Find the answer to your Linux question:
Just curious about some stuff. I'm just learning Linux the last month or two, and doing a bit of shell scripting. Anyways, I was curious if anyone runs just the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Terminal only?

Just curious about some stuff. I'm just learning Linux the last month or two, and doing a bit of shell scripting.
    Anyways, I was curious if anyone runs just the terminal, with no Gnome, KDE, etc. Can you use Firefox without an X interface? Is there a terminal-only distro that comes loaded with all the Perl, Python, and C++ programs? Or is there an easy way to just add in Pythontk, etc, from terminal only?

I've been kicking around going terminal-only just so that I can force myself to learn Linux more quickly, and have the computer as a programming tool only. Thanks!
    Dan

I usually run terminal only. Since it is on OpenBSD I only have the option to run with 80x25 or a 80x50 characters on the screen so I sometimes use ratpoison window manager on X (for example on my laptop).

If you run Linux you are probably able to use Framebuffer which makes the terminal-only computer more capable of doing what the general user might expect. With framebuffer you can run your TTY-shell with a higher resolution with colors. It can even display pictures, and if you need to view movies mplayer works perfectly on framebuffer only.

You can not run firefox without X. There are some other browser that you can use though. You can use Lynx which is my favourite browser, a problem with Lynx is that it does not support frames. Instead you could use Links that supports frames. Links2 even supports a basic graphical interface on framebuffer, which is great if you want to see images when browsing.