Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a Linux newbie and am looking for ideas on how I can start a Linux process from an application running on a Windows workstation. Does anyone have any ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Starting a Linux process from Windows OS

I am a Linux newbie and am looking for ideas on how I can start a Linux process from an application running on a Windows workstation. Does anyone have any suggestions? I have no idea what kind of capability Linux offers in this area.

Thanks!

Linux Guru
    I'm not exactly sure what you mean. If you mean to start a Linux process on that Windows system, I'm afraid that's impossible. You can't possibly run a Linux process on the Windows kernel. If anything, you may want to look at Cygwin, which provides a UNIX-like environment under the Windows kernel.

If you mean to start a Linux process on another machine running Linux on a network request from a Windows machine, then that's very possible. If only you would provide some details as to how you want to do that, it would be easier to advice you on it.

Just Joined!

More information

On a Windows workstation I have a control application that will start and stop processes running on a Linux workstation. What are the alternatives on how do to this? The Windows application is build using C#.

I am definitely not trying to start Linux processes on a Windows workstation.

Thanks for your help!

Linux User

web

I don't know very much about this sort of thing. But i would use php on apache on the linux machine to control the processes then access these using either a web browser or the web client control in c#.
    No trees were harmed during the creation of this message. Its made from a blend of elephant tusk and dolphin meat.

Linux Guru
    Maybe you're looking for something like Webmin?

Linux Engineer
    or putty