Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello Everybody, I am not a computer expert by far so please excuse me if my questions are a bit basic, I love gadgets and needed a new phone and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help needed with Midinex

Hello Everybody,
    I am not a computer expert by far so please excuse me if my questions are a bit basic, I love gadgets and needed a new phone and bought a benQ MID s6 4.8 touch tablet pc from Ebay which has yet to be delivered, it looks fantastic and I am looking forward to receiving it but I need help with it.
    Its operating system is Midinex and the gadget takes a sim card for data downloads/connecting to the internet ETC,
    My question is there software you can download to make it more usable as a cellphone maybe with a phone book last number redial ETC. I am going to load Skype on to it but there is a small problem with this and that is I live in Spain and you can not buy a Spanish Skype number so friends and family calling me to my UK Skype number are going to pay international rates.
    Also can somebody advise me on the best pay as you go simcard for data downloads in Spain.
    Help can anyone advise me.
    Simon

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Sorry, but I am not familiar with this device or operating system. What have you found with google searches? If the OS is some version of Linux, then you should be able to install Skype on it and use that for free local and international calls to other skype users. Does the phone have WiFi? Or is it just a GSM device? The SIM card indicates it does have GSM (maybe 3g or 4g capability), but if you have WiFi also, then when you are near a public (or personal) access point that you can connect with, Skype will cost you nothing if you don't call a physical phone, but only to people using Skype on their phones or computers.