Find the answer to your Linux question:
I've been using my same old Samsung flip phone for about 5+ years and I think it might be time to move into a Smart Phone. If for no other ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Smart Phones, Ubuntu Touch, Verzion, ect?

I've been using my same old Samsung flip phone for about 5+ years and I think it might be time to move into a Smart Phone. If for no other reason wifi interweb capability. I really don't want to use the "normal" crap that comes on the phone(i.e. Android) even though I know it's popular and stuff, I'd much rather use a different form of Linux like Ubuntu Touch OR???? to run on the phone.
    So, which "Free" phones that are available through Verzion(I know they suck but hey, we're stuck with em' for a while) would work with Ubuntu Touch or other Linux Touch OS?
    What do I need to look for in getting a Smart Phone since I'm not an early adopter I don't really need or want the "latest, greatest", something older that'll work will do just fine.
    Will the phone need to be unlocked in order to put Ubuntu Touch on it or can I unlock it myself and get a different OS on it to run?
    Anything that I've missed please feel free to give me more info and stuff. Thanks.

My adventures documented for your pleasure, I am not recommending anything. Just showing what was done on the cheap.

BlackBerry 9530 - Mobile Devices - Smartest Computing

Because you are not a member of that forum. Uploaded images by me are probably blocked. I still have less than $60.00 bucks thrown into that
    touch phone. Took me some hacking though. It hooks up to Linux just fine though. Hacking had to be done in Windows though.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home