Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I noticed with Android x86 there is a Terminal and wonder what package manager they use. Debian has apt-get, Arch has pacman, what does Android have and can you do ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer TNFrank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Crossville, TN. USA
    Posts
    998

    What package manager does Android use?


    I noticed with Android x86 there is a Terminal and wonder what package manager they use. Debian has apt-get, Arch has pacman, what does Android have and can you do sudo or what? Thanks.
    No matter where ya' go, there ya' are.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Victoria, B.C. Canada
    Posts
    1,660
    No CLI for the package manager - just Play Store.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer TNFrank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Crossville, TN. USA
    Posts
    998
    I did find this so there are Terminal Commands of a kind.
    Linux Commands on Android | Android Forums at DroidForums.net
    No matter where ya' go, there ya' are.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Victoria, B.C. Canada
    Posts
    1,660
    Yeah. There are many terminals available. I have a couple that I use - Terminal IDE for one. Android has a subset of the POSIX command set on it. You can also get some scripting languages for it and CLI text editors. I haven't found the CLI to be of much use on Android though.

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast sgosnell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Baja Oklahoma
    Posts
    507
    No package manager, but you can add apps from outside the Play Store. You can download the .apk file and install it, but not, AFAIK, from the terminal. You have to use the Android installer, and you have to enable installation of outside apps first. Android is pretty locked down. You can install the Android SDK on a Linux machine and do a fair amount of stuff, but it's certainly not like standard Linux.

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer TNFrank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Crossville, TN. USA
    Posts
    998
    Is there anyway to update Android from Terminal?
    No matter where ya' go, there ya' are.

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast sgosnell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Baja Oklahoma
    Posts
    507
    Not that I know of. For standard Android devices, you have to use flashing tools. I have no idea how the x86 version does things, though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •