Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I'm having difficulty getting my 3COM wireless network card working under Suse 9.1. (It works fine under Windows, so I know it isn't a hardware problem.) The Prism54 module loads ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    South Yorkshire
    Posts
    7

    Wireless Network


    I'm having difficulty getting my 3COM wireless network card working under Suse 9.1. (It works fine under Windows, so I know it isn't a hardware problem.)

    The Prism54 module loads and I can set up the parameters correctly, but though I've set an IP address manually, when I do ifconfig, I see no IP address.

    I have a 3COM wireless ADSL switch router, and I've put the 3COM PC card in my ancient Toshiba Tecra 8000. This set-up works perfectly with W2000 - but of course I'd much prefer to get Linux going.

    Anyone using a similar config that can help?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Does the card show up when you do "ifconfig -a"? In that case, it might be that all you have to do is just a "ifconfig eth0 up".

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    South Yorkshire
    Posts
    7

    3com Wireless network

    Quote Originally Posted by Dolda2000
    Does the card show up when you do "ifconfig -a"? In that case, it might be that all you have to do is just a "ifconfig eth0 up".
    ifconfig -a shows interfaces lo and sit0, but not the real interface card.

    Suse has a device manager called suseplugger, and that recognises the card and loads a driver called prism54, which appears to be the right one. It also shows the card status as available yes, configured no - although I have configured it.

    Further diagnostic ideas most welcome.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    It's rather strange that suseplugger would display the card as avaible, because if it's not listed by ifconfig -a, then it's not available at all.

    Try unloading and reloading the prism54 module and check the kernel messages for any clues, like this:
    Code:
    rmmod prism54
    modprobe prism54
    dmesg | tail -30

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    South Yorkshire
    Posts
    7
    Code:
    rmmod prism54
    modprobe prism54
    dmesg | tail -30
    [/quote]

    Thanks,

    That gives interesting result ....

    Unloaded Prism54 driver
    Loaded Prism54 driver, version 1.1
    ACPI: No IRQ known for interrupt pin A of device 0000:01:00.0
    eth0: could not install IRQ handler
    prism54: probe of 0000:01:00.0 failed with error -5

    .... so that seems to be the problem! Any idea what I need to do?

    Stuart

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •