Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I thought I posted this but maybe it was on another forum. I've installed etherwake on my laptop. I want to use it to remotely start a computer in another ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    612

    Question Etherwake is not waking anything!!! (?)


    I thought I posted this but maybe it was on another forum.

    I've installed etherwake on my laptop. I want to use it to remotely start a computer in another room in my home. I will not always have access to this room. The computer I want to start is a server so I keep it in another room so it's out of the way.

    I have looked at many howto's on this but it doesn't seem to be working the way it is explained in them.

    I've set my BIOS to Enable Wake on LAN (WOL). And I've looked up my NI(SiS900 Fast Ethernet) to see if it actually was capable of WOL. It does.

    This how I'm trying to wake the remote computer:
    Code:
    etherwake remote computer's mac addy
    Any ideas?

    Thanks :-)
    Running Linux Since 2001
    Registered Linux User #430868 - Since 91206

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    14
    Not tried Etherwake, but I've got WOL (Wake On Lan). The MAC addresses have been saved in it so it is merely a choice of selecting the correct address, and it's in it's own little GUI box

    Hope this helps...

    How are you laying out the MAC address? Some require the colons, some don't??

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    612
    I've been using colons like xx:xx:xx:xx:xx. I've tried etherwake and wakeonlan. It seems like wakeonlan is a better app. However, I haven't used the GUI. How do you run that, is it a separate package?
    Running Linux Since 2001
    Registered Linux User #430868 - Since 91206

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Midlands, UK
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by flipjargendy View Post
    I've been using colons like xx: xx: xx: xx: xx. I've tried etherwake and wakeonlan. It seems like wakeonlan is a better app. However, I haven't used the GUI. How do you run that, is it a separate package?
    Um, I've probably stuffed things but it's a Windows application Sorry!

    Not sure about Etherwake.... Not used it...

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Power Web Button

    This is probably more than you need. I use this card to power ON/OFF my PC remotely from work. I just open my browser and click on power button then my home PC boots up or shuts down:

    https://ool-43537bf6.dyn.optonline.n...b%20Button.htm

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •