Find the answer to your Linux question:
Sorry guys, i admit, i am new to Linux, and can't get this to work for the life of me. My router is forwarding requests for ports 80 and 21 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Filtered Port with no Firewall?

Sorry guys, i admit, i am new to Linux, and can't get this to work for the life of me. My router is forwarding requests for ports 80 and 21 (for now) to my server. I have apache2 and proFTPD both running. And from other computers on the internal network i can connect to both of them, and they work just fine. However, any connections from an external IP address don't work. When running nmap to scan for open ports, i see 443 and 3306 (Mysql is installed and running) both open, but the rest as "filtered" which leads me to believe a firewall is intercepting the packets...

I have tried killing the firewall via the GUI, and have tried manually adding iptables -I INPUT 1 -p tcp --dport 80 -j ACCEPT (when the firewall is running), but neither leave the port open...

Some background: running Fedora Core2, using Gnome...
    any suggestions?

I have also asked this question on linuxquestions.org, but no one can figure out where my problem lies, things I was asked there was for outputs of some commands, here they are:
    when I have the firewall on, iptables -nvL outputs the following:
    Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT 0 packets, 0 bytes)
    pkts bytes target prot opt in out source destination
    3474 707K RH-Firewall-1-INPUT all -- * * 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT 0 packets, 0 bytes)
    0 0 RH-Firewall-1-INPUT all -- * * 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT 1926 packets, 246K bytes)

Chain RH-Firewall-1-INPUT (2 references)
    20 1294 ACCEPT all -- lo * 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0
    0 0 ACCEPT icmp -- * * 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0 icmp type 255
    0 0 ACCEPT esp -- * * 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0
    0 0 ACCEPT ah -- * * 0.0.0.0/0 0.0.0.0/0