Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi there, I'm very new to the Linux. I'm migrating from Windows environment because of the tons of features I found in Linux. However, I'm still facing problems in the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

NEED HELP about NAT over SuSE

Hi there,
    I'm very new to the Linux. I'm migrating from Windows environment because of the tons of features I found in Linux. However, I'm still facing problems in the netwrok configuration. I really appreciate any help from you people.
    So here is the situation:
    P4 - 512 MB RAM - 40 GB HDD
    SuSE 9 - Kernel 2.4.21
    Three NIC
    eth0 connected to the local LAN with IP 192.168.0.1/24
    eth1 connected to the ADSL Modem 1 with IP 192.168.1.100/24 (the ADSL modem IP is 192.168.1.1)
    eth2 connected to the ADSL Modem 2 with IP 192.168.2.200/24 (the ADSL modem IP is 192.168.2.1)
    PPPoE sessions are controlled by the modems, the modems do NAT and are connected by cross cable back-to-back to eth1 and eth2
    Both ADSL links are connected to the same ISP
    I'm using the following articale to balance the load to both ADSL links:
    lartc.org/howto/lartc.rpdb.multiple-links.html
    What I need is, how can I (and if possible step by step) run the NAT service so I can allow my users to go through this SuSE box with all Internet services (like POP3, IM, others) and keep the load balancing works?
    I've tried running the NAT service but it didn't work. And more worse, whenever I restart the box, I lose all the customization of teh routing tables!!

People, your faster response is really helpful.
    Thanks,

Linux Guru
    How exactly did you set up NAT? Maybe you already tried this, but I think would be wise to use the MASQUERADE target, so that it's SNATed to the source address of the outgoing interface.

Just Joined!