Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Hello everyone, I have been working as a junior systems engineer for a month now. My supervisor left the company and I'm freaking out. I'm pretty much on my own ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Kronos
    Posts
    286

    Destination Host Unreachable


    Hello everyone,

    I have been working as a junior systems engineer for a month now. My supervisor left the company and I'm freaking out. I'm pretty much on my own now (god knows for how long) and I really need some help.
    We got here a few render boxes. Unfortunately, one of them is not responding. Whenever I ping it, I get the following output:

    PING renderbox007 (10.0.0.185) 56(84) bytes of data.
    From camembert (10.0.0.174): icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From camembert (10.0.0.174) icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From camembert (10.0.0.174) icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
    From camembert (10.0.0.174) icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
    From camembert (10.0.0.174) icmp_seq=4 Destination Host Unreachable
    From camembert (10.0.0.174) icmp_seq=5 Destination Host Unreachable
    From camembert (10.0.0.174) icmp_seq=6 Destination Host Unreachable


    I have restart the machine quite a few times but nothing changed.

    Can somebody help me, please?

    Thank you in advance!!!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    This looks to be more a routing issue than a problem with the box since you are pinging "renderbox007" and getting the destination host unreachable from "camembert". Are your computer and the renderbox007 on the same IP range? Or does it have to go through routing to get there. Maybe try pinging the renderbox007 from another rendering machine (assuming they're on the same ip range)
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Kronos
    Posts
    286
    I think they are. What do you mean exaclty "the same IP range"?

    Renderbox = 10.0.0.174
    My machine "camembert" =10.0.0.185

    The render box is connected to a switch and every machine can access it through the switch.

    Also, if I type arp I can get the MAC (HW)address of every machine.

    For renderbox7, its says: incomplete

  4. #4
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    Ah, right, they are on the same range then! Can most/all of the other boxes ping renderbox007 alright, and how about pinging the machine you have trouble pinging from? Can others ping that machine ok?
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  5. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Kronos
    Posts
    286
    Hello sdousley,

    Sorry for my late reply.
    None of any other machines can ping renderbox007.
    Yes other machines can ping my machine, no problem.

    Any more suggestions?

    Thank you very much

  6. #6
    Just Joined! Foolse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Mellbystrand, Sweden
    Posts
    28
    Hi!

    I am not an expert but still...
    Here are some suggestions (which you probably already checked!)

    Do the machines use the same netmask?
    Are the ports for ping closed?
    Do you use IPtables or some other firewall?

    Best,
    /Ove

  7. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Kronos
    Posts
    286
    Hi foolse,

    thank you for your reply.

    Do the machines use the same netmask?
    Yes

    Are the ports for ping closed?
    I don't know, can you please tell me how can I check that?

    Do you use IPtables or some other firewall?
    I think IPtables

  8. #8
    Just Joined! Foolse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Mellbystrand, Sweden
    Posts
    28
    Try the command:
    Code:
    iptables -L
    and supply the result (if you get one )

    if not try a portscan on the machine either from the troublesome one or from another (LINUX) machine...

    and by the way have you checked netstat?

    Best
    /Ove

  9. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Kronos
    Posts
    286

    Problem Solved

    Hi foolse,

    Here is the output of iptables -L:

    Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target prot opt source destination

    Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
    target prot opt source destination

    Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
    target prot opt source destination


    I have no idea what that means.

  10. #10
    Just Joined! Foolse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Mellbystrand, Sweden
    Posts
    28
    That means you do not have any IPtables rules running.
    maybe you are using Ipchains?

    What kernel are you using?
    Code:
     uname -rvo
    how are the routing done
    Code:
     route
    and could you please post the result from
    Code:
     ifconfig -a
    You could check the open ports as well, either with the graphical tool of your choice or by using ie nmap, I am not very good with nmap but I would try something like:
    Code:
     nmap -sT localhost
    and
    Code:
    nmap -sT #the ip adress of your machine#
    do the nmap both from "camembert" and from outside of it.

    Good luck!
    /Ove

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •