Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
i just got backtrack .. and it cannot identify my network card (Realtek) i'm using backtrack from the cd .. i try to view my network interfaces using "ifconfig", and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4

    BackTrack cannot identify my network card !!


    i just got backtrack .. and it cannot identify my network card (Realtek)
    i'm using backtrack from the cd ..
    i try to view my network interfaces using "ifconfig", and i get nothing except "lo" (which is loopback or somethin)
    any help plz ??

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Chances are the driver is included so I'm not sure why it isn't loading up for you. Let's see what it is. From the command line:
    Code:
    /sbin/lspci
    Write down the line about your RealTek and post it here. Then we might be able to load the driver...
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4
    when i used lspci .. it gave me a long list of my hardware
    the last line contained :

    Code:
    02:01.0 Ethernet Controller : Hangzhou Silan Microelectronics Co. Ltd. Unknown Device 2031 (rev 01)
    i dont know what that means .. anyway, is there any method to let backtrack identify my card ??

  4. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    I really hate to be the harbinger of bad news, but it's a fake card... not a Realtek.
    Link
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4
    10x man ..
    i read the link
    ur right :S
    although windows can identify the card just fine as "realtek" ..
    yeah i think the card is fake !!
    anyway who cares .. it costed me nothing
    these cards are very cheap u can buy one for like 3$ around here.
    the problem is i have to make sure the next card i buy is original

  6. #6
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Did you buy it from a vendor or did it come in your box? If from a vendor, I'd take it back and demand my money back as it is a counterfeit. Sure, it's cheap, but it's the principal involved. An off the shelf DLink or Linksys NIC will do the job just fine.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    4
    i got a new network card and i worked just fine i can now connect to the network !
    but i cant use my pppoe connection to connect to the internet :S
    i enter all the required info in pppoe-setup, then it goes like this :

    .............. TIMED OUT

    any help about this ?!

  8. #8
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    It's been so long since I used ppp that I'm not sure.... The Slackware pppoe utility always worked good for me. Does Backtrack use KDE? If so, the KPPP dialer is very nice and should be in you menu. If command line doesn't bother you, (and it should never bother anyone using Slackware... ), wvdial is a very nice utility.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •