Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Does anyone know a good WirelessG card to use with Mandrake 10? Please let me know what you use, and if it works as is, or what you had to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    12

    Wireless PCMCIA cards known to work with Mandrake 10


    Does anyone know a good WirelessG card to use with Mandrake 10? Please let me know what you use, and if it works as is, or what you had to do to make it work. I have a Linksys WPC54G wirelessG card, and it doesn't work (yes, ndiswrapper doesn't work either). Someone let me know if they found one that works, please.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    Suposidly the driver that will cost $20 after a 30 day trial period drives the broadcom chipset in that nichttp://www.linuxant.com./driverloader/also see this page http://www.linuxant.com/driverloader...imitations.php... also see this page and i know that it says broadcom however on the inside of that linksys it is a broadcom card http://www.linuxant.com./company/press_bcmwl5dldr.php
    but i havent had a chance to try it yet but i will tomarrow....

    but wireless g nic's that work in linux rightc now are: the 802.11g Netgear WG511 works in linux but is not officialy supported see this link--->http://toys.lerdorf.com/archives/15_...and_Linux.html

    And when my lappie finnishes emerging world i will try the linuxant driverloader.....news to come i have the same nic!
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  3. #3
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    i got my linksys WPC54G working please see---> http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/vie...=106679#106679
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by loft306
    i got my linksys WPC54G working please see---> http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/vie...=106679#106679

    Will do, thx for your replies.


    Well, after learning I needed the generic RPM, I installed and configured it per instructions on Linuxants website.... It worked, but now the system hangs on boot . the system hangs when it gets to eth0 (my onboard lan) which used to timeout and fail (no connection). I can boot into failsafe mode, but don't know how to fix it without reinstalling Mandrake.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    just un configure the eth0 if you dont use it
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by loft306
    just un configure the eth0 if you dont use it
    I can't un-configure it. The system does not boot. It hangs when it tries to initialize eth0 (on-board lan). I can boot into failsafe mode, but have no idea how to go about doing this from the command line in failsafe mode. Have books, will read.....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •