Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
i have kubuntu 7.10 on my main computer and on my laptop im running basic linux 3.5 in the ram.i have i phone cord connecting them and i cant figure ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie thesimplecreator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    washington , USA
    Posts
    229

    dail-up networking


    i have kubuntu 7.10 on my main computer and on my laptop im running basic linux 3.5 in the ram.i have i phone cord connecting them and i cant figure out how to set-up a network with em.
    i need a faster way than floppies to get files back and forth and my ethernet card on my laptop isnt supported
    Microsoft isn't evil, they just make really crappy operating systems.
    Linus Torvalds

    Personal and politically centrist blog.--->
    http://www.deathnerd.com

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Is the desktop pc on the net? Wired or wireless? Or telephone modem? If high speed, I think a wireless router and a PCMCIA card that does work with Linux would be a great solution.

    You say your ethernet card isn't supported? That's very odd since almost all wired Ethernet devices work with Linux. You know for sure it will not work? It could just need some attention to configuration.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie thesimplecreator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    washington , USA
    Posts
    229
    my desktop computer is connected to the net using ethernet.
    the ethernet card on the laptop is a PCMCIA card and isnt supported
    i dont need the laptop to connect to the net.i just want it to connect to the main computer
    Microsoft isn't evil, they just make really crappy operating systems.
    Linus Torvalds

    Personal and politically centrist blog.--->
    http://www.deathnerd.com

  4. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    The lappy doesn't have an ethernet slot in the frame itself? If not, a Xircom 56k PCMCIA might be a reasonable solution. You can use both 56k and regular ethernet with it. See this thread for more details.
    Last edited by Dapper Dan; 10-27-2007 at 02:14 AM.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie thesimplecreator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    washington , USA
    Posts
    229
    the laptop has a built in 56k modem and i want to know how to network it with my main computer for file sharing.
    Microsoft isn't evil, they just make really crappy operating systems.
    Linus Torvalds

    Personal and politically centrist blog.--->
    http://www.deathnerd.com

  6. #6
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    If there is a way to do it within the same local area network with one being 56k and the other being ethernet, I'm not aware of the method. I suppose you could use ssh to go out on the net and back in to the other machine as long as the proper ports were forwarded to each box in a router, but that seems an impractical solution when, for less than 10 dollars you could have both machines on the same LAN via ethernet... Link
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie thesimplecreator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    washington , USA
    Posts
    229
    no i didnt explain it good enough,
    this is the setup


    the laptop is connected to my main computer with a phone cord and my main computer is connected to the internet through ethernet.



    [___LAPTOP___] ----------------[_main_comp_] ========{INTERNET}
    the laptop doesnt need to get to the internet though, just my main computer.srry fer the misunderstanding
    Microsoft isn't evil, they just make really crappy operating systems.
    Linus Torvalds

    Personal and politically centrist blog.--->
    http://www.deathnerd.com

  8. #8
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    Quote Originally Posted by thesimplecreator View Post
    the laptop is connected to my main computer with a phone cord and my main computer is connected to the internet through ethernet.
    If there is a way to do what you are trying to do, I'm not aware of it. Sorry.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie thesimplecreator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    washington , USA
    Posts
    229
    ok thx anyways man
    Microsoft isn't evil, they just make really crappy operating systems.
    Linus Torvalds

    Personal and politically centrist blog.--->
    http://www.deathnerd.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •