Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
so I'm having severe problems with my internet connection and I'm a noob so hopefully this is a simple fix. Here's the lowdown: Distro: Ubuntu 7.10 Box: Geforce 6100SM-M chipset ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

how can I be half connected? really interesting tragedy

so I'm having severe problems with my internet connection and I'm a noob so hopefully this is a simple fix. Here's the lowdown:

Distro: Ubuntu 7.10
    Box: Geforce 6100SM-M chipset with AMD-64
    Problem: in the command line ifconfig shows that I am connected to the internet, when I ping various websites I receive the correct IP and domain name in the response, Limewire connects and can share files all day long without a problem, and the network manager says I'm connected at a steady 100 Mbps, also, my the DSL modem and router are functional, and my roommates computer (hooked to the same router and running XP) works perfectly now the downside; Firefox doesn't think there's a connection, neither does APT, the update manager, Add/Remove Programs, basically everything that's important. what's going on and how can this be fixed?
    I thank you in advance for any possible solutions to this dilemma as I do not know when I'll be able to check any responses to this post.

Was it working OK before?

If so then it suggests that a change has been has been made somewhere.

Have you recently made any changes to your system?

Does your computer connect to the internet via a network card with a DCHP connection?

Banned
    Hi.
    Sounds like the problem is your computer/system, and not a possible bad connection.

So takt a closer look at your system. It might not be able to cope with all the tasks you want to do, and for all the resource hungry applications, etc.

A upgrade, might be the solution. Some more memory RAM. Another card into the slot.