Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am new to linux iptables . I want to ask is it possible to configure iptables on linux so that we only block outgoing TCP and allow incoming ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

IPTables to block outgoing TCP only and allow incoming TCP

Hi,

I am new to linux iptables . I want to ask is it possible to configure iptables on linux so that we only block outgoing TCP and allow incoming TCP? If yes, can any one provide the iptable entries for that. Please help.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
    Deep

Yes you can do that thats not that hard.
    Code:
    iptables -A INPUT -p tcp -j ACCEPT
    iptables -A OUTPUT -p tcp -j DROP
    I dont know why you'd want this but ok..
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

Those two lines will most probably block ALL tcp. The outgoing rule will actually block the whole session.

I suggest blocking only the SYN flagged outgoing tcp packets:

Code:
    iptables -A OUTPUT -p tcp --tcp-flags ALL SYN -j DROP
    Thus no tcp session will be allowed from the machine, but any incomming tcp traffic will be possible.

Cheers,
    Ventsi

Just Joined!

Red face Allowing incoming traffic (general web browsing and downloading specifically)

Hi all,
    I am trying to relax these rules a little more... but apparently in a rather unanticipated manner (?) so I got stuck...

Basically, I "just" want to use your rules to make it impossible for a group of server users to move files from the server to the general internet but still I want to allow them to move content from the internet to that server.

To be more specific, users should be able to read their e-mail, download some attachments (or livemesh content) and then use that content on the server. However, since the server also contains content not owned by the users, they should not be able to use any protocol for moving that content to their own machine...