Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
hi .. i have a laptop with ubuntu 7.10 installed and a pc with fedora core 7 installed .. i would like to connect both the comps and set up ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2

    setting up lan


    hi ..
    i have a laptop with ubuntu 7.10 installed and a pc with fedora core 7 installed ..
    i would like to connect both the comps and set up a small lan ..
    how should i proceed ?? pls help

    eskay

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    First you'll need a Cable.
    Second you think to think. Do you only want to connect these two PCs or do you want to add something else?
    Like Inet access, Wireless Access Point, Other PCs, Printers?

    If you just want to connect these PC's
    You should connect them.
    Assign IP adresses to the ethernet cards. And test the connection with the ping command.

    Hope that Helps.
    Cheers,
    Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  3. #3
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    I'm presuming you do not have a router...

    Get a wireless router, run the cable that used to run from your modem to your Fedora box and plug it into the router. Then, another from the router back to Fedora box. It will be clear once you have examined the router. Next is to get the laptop going wirelessly. I'm pretty sure ssh server in installed on Fedora by default, but you will likely have to install it on Ubuntu. Once both machines are connected and operational with Internet, you can connect to each box from the other via ssh, vnc or other ways. For file transfter, ssh is the best way to go. Set each box up with a static IP. Let's say you set static IP for Fedora to be 192.168.1.101 and the laptop's to be 192.168.1.102. From a terminal in Fedora...
    Code:
    ssh username@192.168.1.102
    It will ask for password. Enter it and you should get into Ubuntu. From Ubuntu to Fedora, reverse the process. Proceed on each machine from the command line as you would if you were on that computer. For a complete "how to" on ssh including file transfer, see here.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Why do you want to give him Wireless for such a simple networking problem.
    Wireless is very insecure.. (Ok, that aint correct WEP and WPA are insecure (WEP very))
    But, this aint nessercery. if he wants a very easy network all he needs is a cable.
    If he wants a more advanced Id buy a routed if I were him. But I whouldnt go wireless (If not needed).

    In my eyes Wireless is still a teenager. It works. But still has bad achne. (Thanks for the Reference to TechnieMoe, used in his Arch linux Review ^^)

    but, well I dont think he should get Wireless.
    But then again its his own Choice
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    What is the purpose of having a laptop if not for mobility? Is he to run a wire from his patio into the house and into his bedroom to the Fedora PC if He wants to compute from the patio? Are you actually arguing that wirelss with a laptop should not be an option??
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Ok, you got me there.
    Well I thought he is just going to use it to Sync/Backup the data to somekind of DataCenter.
    If he doesnt have Inet on the other box. I dont even get the point of Networking aside from Gaming/backuping/coding
    And with all those Functions you want to have a WorkStation (in my eyes)

    Well, so get Wireless if you want to be Mobile.
    Get a cable if you dont

    Cheers,
    Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  7. #7
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    Explain to eskay and me how to do it just with a wire. I'd like to know myself!
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Well, umm If I recall correctly from my CCNA class.
    You could just enter a Cable to both PCs and setup the Network Cards.

    but how Id do it is install DHCP and DNS on one box so basicly Id give one of the Boxes the Powers of a Router and Ill just connect the Second one.
    I know for sure that works

    Cheers,
    Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •