Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
you wont belive this. They already were both UID 1001 Oh If the ID's match there shouldn't be a problem. Have a dig through your logs / google to see ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    539

    you wont belive this.
    They already were both UID 1001
    Oh

    If the ID's match there shouldn't be a problem.

    Have a dig through your logs / google to see what the problem / issue is starting the nfs daemon.

    Starting NFS Daemon [!!]
    That might shed some more light on the situation
    RHCE #100-015-395
    Please don't PM me with questions as no reply may offend, that's what the forums are for.

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    well rebooted the Boxes.
    Started from the start.
    Again I cant connect.. I still have the Starting NFS Daemon with !!
    I did check the passwd file for UIDs. both the users are 1001 on their box.
    I have NO idea what is going wrong here.
    I did check the /var/log dir.
    But nothing that looks like NFS logs.
    • Xorg.0.log
    • dmesg
    • emerge.log
    • lastlog
    • wtmp
    • portage/
    • sandbox/
    • news/
    • cups/


    I did read them all.

    Since I dont get extra info from Linux I cant really do anything.. Well does anyone else have a idea?

    Cheers,
    Robin

    edit:
    Ok, I made a hosts.allow file saying:
    Code:
    portmap: 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0
    lockd: 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0
    rquotad: 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0
    mountd: 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0
    statd: 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0
    Doesnt work Either..
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  3. #13
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    539
    One other idea, is portmap running ?
    RHCE #100-015-395
    Please don't PM me with questions as no reply may offend, that's what the forums are for.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    539
    Quote Originally Posted by matonb View Post
    One other idea, is portmap running ?
    DOH, didn't read the end of your last post!
    RHCE #100-015-395
    Please don't PM me with questions as no reply may offend, that's what the forums are for.

  6. #15
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    539
    Mind you, your post says your not blocking the port, not whether or not portmap is running



    Your running gentoo if I remember?
    RHCE #100-015-395
    Please don't PM me with questions as no reply may offend, that's what the forums are for.

  7. #16
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    This is Gentoo indeed on OpenVZ (like already said before)
    there ISNT anykind of Iptables or other firewall/port/serviceblocker on this system.

    Cheers,
    Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  8. #17
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    I tryed to mount with:
    Code:
    mount -t nfs 192.168.1.11:/home/john /home/_sxb
    No luck..

    Edit:

    I found:
    The reason is that these daemons check the major number of the device where the directory to export resides. If major equals 0 then daemons assume that it is NFS and don't want to re-export it. Symptoms are that clients will always get a "permission denied" error. Simfs (the file system on which VE is located) is associated with so called unnamed device, in which major equals 0. So, to prevent daemons from checking for re-exporting — just use this -r option.
    But that doesnt really help me either.
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  9. #18
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    539
    I just mounted one of my exports onto a home directory to see if it was something to do with /homes. It worked no drama, I did execute mount as root though.

    (RHEL4 AS servers)
    RHCE #100-015-395
    Please don't PM me with questions as no reply may offend, that's what the forums are for.

  10. #19
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    539
    Don't know if this will help:

    NFS server inside VE - OpenVZ Wiki
    RHCE #100-015-395
    Please don't PM me with questions as no reply may offend, that's what the forums are for.

  11. #20
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    I did execute the mount commands as root aswell.
    I did read that thing. I also did all the commands in there.
    I did spread the Quesion over the net now. Since this is really un-normal.
    The Topic is also on the OpenVZ forum and also on the gentoo Forums..

    Cheers,
    Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •