Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I'm a complete newbie to Linux - I installed Kubuntu last week. After about 4 hours work, I managed to get my the software modem working using Martian Modem, and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    5

    Dialup problems (help!)


    I'm a complete newbie to Linux - I installed Kubuntu last week. After about 4 hours work, I managed to get my the software modem working using Martian Modem, and that was working fine up until today, when for some strange reason, everything stopped working.

    When I dial out, the connection seems to establish properly - at least, I'm not getting any errors, and the dialogue saying it's there and connected comes up. However, I'm unable to access anything. Firefox instantaneously gives me a 'Server not found' error; Pidgin won't connect; I can't even ping out.

    I'm not particularly good with networking issues, so I don't know what's causing this, or where to even begin to look to fix it, so could someone point me in the direction of what may be the problem, or where to look for a fix? I'm not sure what info to provide to help, so just tell me, and I'll try and provide it.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Great mighty Czech Republic, in the heart of Europe :-)
    Posts
    11
    OK, so the first thing to check is ping. try to do for example

    Code:
    ping 72.14.207.99
    Good result is this:

    Code:
    PING 72.14.207.99 (72.14.207.99) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 72.14.207.99: icmp_seq=1 ttl=244 time=155 ms
    it means that you are connected to the internet

    wrong result is this:

    Code:
    PING 72.14.207.99 (72.14.207.99) 56(84) bytes of data.
    From some host (some IP) icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From some host (some IP) icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From some host (some IP) icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable

    Second thing to check is DNS
    do for example this:

    Code:
    ping www.gmail.com
    Good result:

    Code:
    PING googlemail.l.google.com (72.14.205.17) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from qb-in-f17.google.com (72.14.205.17): icmp_seq=1 ttl=244 time=152 ms
    It means that internet connection works as expected

    Wrong result:

    Code:
    ping: unknown host googlemail.l.google.com
    Means that there is something wrong with your DNS settings


    Write here results, so we could help you further.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    5
    Output of the first:
    Code:
    PING 72.14.207.99 (72.14.207.99) 56(84) bytes of data.
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    ping: sendmsg: Operation not permitted
    Output of the second:
    Code:
    ping google.com
    ping: unkown host google.com
    Also tried the first using sudo, same output.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Great mighty Czech Republic, in the heart of Europe :-)
    Posts
    11
    So your connection to network was not established properly, or there is something wrong with your firewall or you got no IP address from dhcp server

    Please send here output of following commands:

    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    (Will display properties of your network devices)

    Code:
    cat /var/log/messages |grep -i dhc |tail
    (Will return last few records about dhcp from log, not sure if it will work on your distro)

    Code:
    netstat -nr
    (Will display routing table)

    To test firewall try to switch it off and access the internet. If not successfull, switch it on again.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    5
    Output of all three:

    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:E0:18:77:7C:4F
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    
    eth0:avah Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:E0:18:77:7C:4F
              inet addr:169.254.5.241  Bcast:169.254.255.255  Mask:255.255.0.0
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:86 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:86 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
              RX bytes:6464 (6.3 KB)  TX bytes:6464 (6.3 KB)
    
    ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
              inet addr:211.27.72.20  P-t-P:211.27.64.46  Mask:255.255.255.255
              UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:40 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:11 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
              RX bytes:3398 (3.3 KB)  TX bytes:156 (156.0 b)
    
    
    ------------------
    
    cat /var/log/messages |grep -i dhc |tail
    Dec  4 22:29:06 silk-desktop dhcdbd: Started up.
    Dec  5 00:06:20 silk-desktop dhcdbd: Started up.
    Dec  5 00:26:09 silk-desktop dhcdbd: Started up.
    Dec  5 00:31:39 silk-desktop dhcdbd: Started up.
    Dec  5 00:40:48 silk-desktop dhcdbd: Started up.
    Dec  5 07:00:31 silk-desktop dhcdbd: Started up.
    Dec  5 12:44:51 silk-desktop dhcdbd: Started up.
    Dec  5 16:28:41 silk-desktop dhcdbd: Started up.
    Dec  5 16:37:30 silk-desktop dhcdbd: Started up.
    Dec  5 21:44:19 silk-desktop dhcdbd: Started up.
    
    ------------------
    
    netstat -nr
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags   MSS Window  irtt Iface
    211.27.64.46    0.0.0.0         255.255.255.255 UH        0 0          0 ppp0
    169.254.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U         0 0          0 eth0
    0.0.0.0         0.0.0.0         0.0.0.0         U         0 0          0 ppp0
    I tried turning the firewall off - no luck with that.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Great mighty Czech Republic, in the heart of Europe :-)
    Posts
    11
    Let me guess - when you executed command netstat -nr two first lines displayed immediately, but the last one took some time? (I've seen this in my distro on many occasions). Bold line is wrong:


    Code:
    netstat -nr
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags   MSS Window  irtt Iface
    211.27.64.46    0.0.0.0         255.255.255.255 UH        0 0          0 ppp0
    169.254.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U         0 0          0 eth0
    0.0.0.0         0.0.0.0         0.0.0.0         U         0 0 
    There should be default gateway, something like this:

    Code:
    netstat -nr
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags   MSS Window  irtt Iface
    211.27.64.46    0.0.0.0         255.255.255.255 UH        0 0          0 ppp0
    169.254.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U         0 0          0 eth0
    0.0.0.0         211.27.64.46         0.0.0.0         UG         0 0          0 ppp0
    
    You can either try to add it manually, by command
    Code:
    route add default gw 211.27.64.46 ppp0
    or you can try to reestablish the dial up connection and look for the reason, why is the default GW not added automatically

    PLEASE BE ADVICED, that you'll need to be root to execute these commands (or do sudo) and that I've extracted IP 211.27.64.46 from result of your command ipconfig -a, bold section bellow. If you reestablish the connection, you will have to look at output of the ipconfig -a command, to get the correct IP.

    Code:
    ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
              inet addr:211.27.72.20  P-t-P:211.27.64.46  Mask:255.255.255.255
              UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:40 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:11 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
              RX bytes:3398 (3.3 KB)  TX bytes:156 (156.0 b)
    Post the result

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    5
    Unfortunately, it appears no luck. I added the route in, and that comes up successfully on netstat -nr, but still unable to connect to anything or ping out.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Great mighty Czech Republic, in the heart of Europe :-)
    Posts
    11
    You can try to ping the gateway, you added by the route command. That's the nearest network device and ping to it should work.

    If it will work, do traceroute command for example to 72.14.207.99. Could be important to know if you can reach beyond the gateway or not

    If it won't work, then you should look for problems in logs, which are on most ditros in directory /var/log (most important is usually /var/log/messages). I would also recommend following actions:
    - restart of whole server or at of least network subsystem,
    - restart of dhcplient, to re-get the IP and DNS configuration from DHCP server.
    - you can also run martian_modem in debug mode to see what's happening
    - as last resort, you can try some console based connection programs. They are usually a lot easier to debug.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    5
    Can't ping to the gateway. I can, however, ping to the address given by 'inet addr:', but no other IP (except for the local ones, of course.)

    I'll try doing some of the stuff you said.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •