Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hello LinuxForums I figure Vista was the best thing to happen to the UNIX community. I used Vista for a few days and was ready to defenestrate my poor little ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    4

    modem installation in Ubuntu


    Hello LinuxForums

    I figure Vista was the best thing to happen to the UNIX community. I used Vista for a few days and was ready to defenestrate my poor little laptop

    First I checked out A Linmodems support page but it was last updated on Feb 2005 and any email sent is just bounced back.

    I've read few several threads here and tried running various terminal commands but many times they cannot be executed. I did dl and run scanModem and it did something because my modemData.txt was updated.

    Well if you need, I can attach my ModemData.txt. I'm running
    UBUNTU 7.04 on an Acer 5610Z. I'm not familiar with DOS or UNIX so the
    terminal in this new O/S is a little frustrating at times. GUI's have
    spoiled me and I've never learned how to compute!

    I really need to have my dial-up working. Please help me install my modem.

    Thank you so much.

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    From the command line:
    Code:
    sudo lspci
    Find the part about your modem and copy it to here. Chances are it's a winmodem, but there are other ways to skin this cat.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    4
    thanks Dapper Dan

    What I see is a list of hardware but nothing mentioning a modem.

  4. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    It DOES have one right? There should be something there about it... Can you print the whole list of hardware here?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    4
    Code:
    ecotourism@ecotourism-laptop:~$ sudo lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS/940GML and 945GT Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
    00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
    00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
    00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 02)
    00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 02)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI #1 (rev 02)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI #2 (rev 02)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI #3 (rev 02)
    00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI #4 (rev 02)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
    00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7 Family) Serial ATA Storage Controller IDE (rev 02)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
    06:01.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX (rev 02)
    06:02.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5005G 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)
    06:04.0 CardBus bridge: ENE Technology Inc CB-712/4 Cardbus Controller (rev 10)
    06:04.1 FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc ENE PCI Memory Stick Card Reader Controller (rev 01)
    06:04.2 Generic system peripheral [0805]: ENE Technology Inc ENE PCI Secure Digital Card Reader Controller (rev 01)
    06:04.3 FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc: (rev 01)
    06:04.4 FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc Unknown device 0551 (rev 01)
    I appreciate the quick help. I'm on an XP system on dial-up right now and I have my UBUNTU unit sitting next to me so the copy/paste things take some shuffling

  6. #6
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    But your computer has a 56k modem and it worked under vista? I don't see much either. I guess it's an Intel device but without seeing exactly what it is, there's no way of knowing if it will work with Linux. My guess though is that it won't. You may want to consider using something like this. Ubuntu has the drivers for it already, so it should be a simple matter of plugging it in into the PCMCIA port, connecting the telephone wire and dialing...
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    4
    The computer I'm using to speak with you is a Gateway using XP on dial-up. The one you're helping me with is the Acer

    Thanks so much DD.

    I'll check out what you've recommended.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    india
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Karmafarmer View Post
    The computer I'm using to speak with you is a Gateway using XP on dial-up. The one you're helping me with is the Acer

    Thanks so much DD.

    I'll check out what you've recommended.
    ok
    now i have ADSL MODEM AND CONNECT VIA EATHERNET CARD, MY DOUBT IS HOW TO FIND THE NETWORK CONNECTION IS CONNECT OR NOT. WHICH MENU CLIK AND I WILL SEE NETWORK CONNECTION.

  9. #9
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    sudo ifconfig

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •