Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 3 of 3
I am pretty much a linux newbie, so please bare with me: Here is my problem, I recently set up 2 dedicated boxes, and the idea is to have them ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1

    Nameservers Not Resolving


    I am pretty much a linux newbie, so please bare with me:

    Here is my problem, I recently set up 2 dedicated boxes, and the idea is to have them server as a master and slave nameserver. I used some guides to create the different zone files for my domain.

    I set up my two nameservers to be (ns1.lb-leo.com) and (ns2.lb-leo.com). I also went into my Godaddy account and added the ns1 and ns2 to the host summary pointing each of them to their static IP address, and then added the two nameservers to the actual domain.

    This seems like I have the right solution, but here is my result:

    I can ping my IP address from anywhere with no problem. I can even point directly to the IP address without a problem. However, I can't ping anything to do with the domain name. I thought this might be a firewall issue, so I turned the firewall completely off. If you do a port scan on the ip you will notice port 53 is open. On top of that, when I ping the actual nameserver ns1.lb-leo.com or ns2.lb-leo.com, it shows that it resolves to the IP but then the request times out. (I am not sure how ping really works behind the scene, but it shows the correct IP for a second).

    Nslookup or ping on either of those servers, or even another server on the local network shows the correct results, but as soon as I go to an external location and ping or nslookup, it times out.

    I also used DNS Stuff and it came back saying that all DNS servers have A records, but then when it checks the NS, it gives the error (A timeout occurred getting the NS records from your nameservers!)

    Please help, I have tried everything I can think of or find on the internet, but no one has any answers.

    This is my zone file:
    Code:
    $ORIGIN .
    $TTL 86400      ; 1 day
    lb-leo.com              IN SOA  ns1.lb-leo.com. webmaster.lb-leo.com. (
                                    2007122615 ; serial
                                    10800      ; refresh (3 hours)
                                    3600       ; retry (1 hour)
                                    604800     ; expire (1 week)
                                    86400      ; minimum (1 day)
                                    )
                            NS      ns1.lb-leo.com.
                            NS      ns2.lb-leo.com.
                            A       69.13.198.162
                            MX      10 mail2.lb-leo.com.
    $ORIGIN lb-leo.com.
    *                       A       69.13.198.162
    cp                      A       69.13.198.162
    mail                    A       69.13.198.162
    mail2                   A       69.13.198.163
    mysql                   A       69.13.198.162
    mysql2                  A       69.13.198.163
    ns1                     A       69.13.198.162
    ns2                     A       69.13.198.163
    $ORIGIN res.lb-leo.com.
    *                       A       69.13.198.162
    $ORIGIN u21.lb-leo.com.
    *                       A       69.13.198.162
    $ORIGIN u29.lb-leo.com.
    *                       A       69.13.198.163
    $ORIGIN lb-leo.com.
    web1                    A       69.13.198.162
    web2                    A       69.13.198.163

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Welcome to the forums, pblackmon!

    I don't know much at all about networking, but I think it can take up to a few days for nameserver changes to migrate across the web so that you can pull up a domain by name.

    Maybe someone will correct if I'm mistaken.
    oz

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    OK, it looks like the provider is serving up the correct responses.

    Code:
    ~ $ dig lb-leo.com NS
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> lb-leo.com NS
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 7004
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 2
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;lb-leo.com.                    IN      NS
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    lb-leo.com.             172785  IN      NS      ns2.lb-leo.com.
    lb-leo.com.             172785  IN      NS      ns1.lb-leo.com.
    
    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    ns1.lb-leo.com.         172785  IN      A       62.13.198.162
    ns2.lb-leo.com.         172785  IN      A       62.13.198.163
    
    ;; Query time: 1 msec
    ;; SERVER: 192.168.1.100#53(192.168.1.100)
    ;; WHEN: Thu Dec 27 14:01:58 2007
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 96
    Looking at what you posted already these entries match.

    What is inportant is, are you using Views in your config file? It would help if we could see your named.conf file also.
    Since you turned off the firewall and it still is not working I'm leaning towards the config file but cannot say that is the problem until I can see it.
    It still might be nice to se the firewall rules just to be on the safe side that once the DNS config is fixed that the rules will allow everything to work.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •