Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey guys, I am new to Linux, previously a Windows user. I have very limited knowledge of my distro, Ubuntu but do have a good knowledge of Windows. I can ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

WoW, Linux and SSH

Hey guys,

I am new to Linux, previously a Windows user. I have very limited knowledge of my distro, Ubuntu but do have a good knowledge of Windows. I can navigate everything fine and understand how many things work but my problem is that I dont know many of the good applications.

Im a WoW player and decided I would install it on Ubuntu. All works fine, The graphics and everything are ok, using WINE.

My problem is this, I live in university halls, and they block alot of traffic, based on it being non-educational. I can understand that for blocking things like p2p and BitTorrent, bandwidth hogs.

I dont really see why they block WoW, very low bandwidth requirements.

Anyway, I got around this on Windows by using Putty to connect to my shell and then using Proxifier to tunnel all traffic from Wow.exe. I have also used socksify if that helps you understand what I was doing.

What I need is a way of "trapping" all traffic from wow.exe and sending it to my own machine (127.0.0.1) where it can be forwarded to my shell and around their restrictions.

I have tried the various bash commands to connect to a shell but they dont work. Im behind a Proxy that seems to mess everything up. To connect to my shell on Linux I have to use Putty. Not a big deal, I only really use it for WoW. So many SSH bash commands dont work for me.

Thanks for any comments.

Robert

Okay Im not entirely sure what you want to do. You want to connect via SSH to another shell? What commands aren't working?
    I praise Webmin and PuTTy!
    Registered Linux User: 439431

Just Joined!