Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi I'm new to Using to IPTABLES and need some help I've and External connection with a static ip to my ISP then i've two internal subnets both in 10.69.16.0/23 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Iptables Routing 10.69.16.0 to 10.69.18.0

Hi I'm new to Using to IPTABLES and need some help
    I've and External connection with a static ip to my ISP then i've two internal subnets both in 10.69.16.0/23 (eth0) and 10.69.18.0/23(eth1) range. Each subnet has a NIC of the firewall in the different ranges, no ip aliasing used.
    I know how to set up the nat to the web,
    I need to be able to set up rules to forward packets between the two subnets.
    i've tried to set rules on the forward chain but they didn't work

iptables -A FORWARD -d 10.69.16.0/23 -o eth0 -j ACCEPT

iptables -A FORWARD -d 10.69.18.0/23 -o eth1 -j ACCEPT

I even had the forward policy to accept but no joy pinging between the subnets.
    where am i going wrong????
    Thanks in advance
    Mark

should it be /24 instead of /23? thats the only obvious thing I can think of

Just Joined!

Not it

I'm using the /23 to give 512 addresses per range

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    except since this is ipv4 you are limited to 256 addresses

Linux Guru
    Your IP ranges are fine - and based on /23 and CIDR, your subnets have ~512 machine ID's...

From your description, it sounds like you have a gateway/router with 3 NIC's, where one goes to the WAN, and the other 2 are the internal subnets.