Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Hi everybody! Hope this is the right forum for this question. I always had a problem with connecting to some sites like hotmail and msn -which I think is the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9

    cannot open hotmail, kmess and other sites with authentication certificate


    Hi everybody!

    Hope this is the right forum for this question. I always had a problem with connecting to some sites like hotmail and msn -which I think is the reason why kmess cannot also connect to its server. Some other sites that require authentication, like my university's email account, cannot be accessed. It's not Firefox's fault since it works perfectly in my Windows partition. I encountered the same problem even when used openSUSE10.2 , the download bar stacks at a particular point. I also don't think the cause is the internet connection because all the previously mentioned sites worked for some intervals, like a week or so, and then stopped again. If I were using Windows I would check the Firewall and internet security settings, but in KUbuntu7.10 things are much different.
    If anybody had the same problem in the past please send some advice.

    cheers,
    Thomas

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Hotmail uses HTTPS and MSN uses SSL.
    So, well do you have SSL Librarys installed?

    (OpenSSL I guess)

    Cheers,
    Robin
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9
    No, this is not the cause, everything is installed.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    Well what are the exact error msgs then?
    what do you get when do execute "openssl --version"?
    Can you ping the msn server?
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9
    Well as I said in my first message the download bar at the bottom right stops at a particular point when firefox is trying to connect to login.live.com.

    My version is:
    OpenSSL 0.9.8e 23 Feb 2007

    I tried to ping the following addresses for hotmail (don't know which is the right one):

    $ping login.live.com
    PING login.live.com.nsatc.net (65.54.179.203) 56(84) bytes of data.

    --- login.live.com.nsatc.net ping statistics ---
    41 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 40082ms

    $ping 127.0.0.1
    PING 127.0.0.1 (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.051 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.048 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.049 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.051 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.048 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=0.046 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=0.042 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=0.034 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 time=0.048 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=10 ttl=64 time=0.044 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=11 ttl=64 time=0.039 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=12 ttl=64 time=0.048 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=13 ttl=64 time=0.046 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=14 ttl=64 time=0.037 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=15 ttl=64 time=0.050 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=16 ttl=64 time=0.050 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=17 ttl=64 time=0.049 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=18 ttl=64 time=0.042 ms
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=19 ttl=64 time=0.046 ms

    --- 127.0.0.1 ping statistics ---
    19 packets transmitted, 19 received, 0% packet loss, time 18050ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.034/0.045/0.051/0.009 ms


    Have a look at this too:
    cannot open hotmail, kmess and other sites with authentication certificate - LinuxQuestions.org

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    $ping login.live.com
    PING login.live.com.nsatc.net (65.54.179.203) 56(84) bytes of data.
    --- login.live.com.nsatc.net ping statistics ---
    41 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 40082ms

    You dont have a Connection to there network

    $ping 127.0.0.1
    PING 127.0.0.1 (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.051 ms

    You are pinging your own Computer -.-'
    Do:
    ping google.com
    ping linuxforums.org
    ping wikipedia.org
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9
    thomas@thomas-laptop:~$ ping google.com
    PING google.com (72.14.207.99) 56(84) bytes of data.

    --- google.com ping statistics ---
    19 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 18010ms

    thomas@thomas-laptop:~$ ping linuxforums.org
    PING linuxforums.org (67.15.52.42) 56(84) bytes of data.

    --- linuxforums.org ping statistics ---
    21 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 20011ms


    thomas@thomas-laptop:~$ ping wikipedia.org
    PING wikipedia.org (66.230.200.100) 56(84) bytes of data.

    --- wikipedia.org ping statistics ---
    33 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 32010ms

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    You dont have network on that box mate.
    Umm, check your ifconfig and you /etc/resolv.conf


    Does this PC have a Wire or Wireless Connection to the internet?
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    9
    thomas@thomas-laptop:/sbin$ ./ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:3F:6A:A6:32
    inet addr:172.16.9.87 Bcast:172.16.11.255 Mask:255.255.252.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::202:3fff:fe6a:a632/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:161661 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:71240 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:128952008 (122.9 MB) TX bytes:7743119 (7.3 MB)
    Interrupt:10 Base address:0xe000

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0C:F1:0A:11:A7
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    Interrupt:5 Base address:0x4000 Memory:90000000-90000fff

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:448 (448.0 b) TX bytes:448 (448.0 b)


    The contents of resolv.conf are:
    search sns.york.ac.uk
    nameserver 144.32.128.228
    nameserver 144.32.129.66

    I am connected to the internet by an ethernet cable, which links my conputer to the university's network.
    Did you check the link I 've send in a previous message, I've sent the same query to LinuxQuestions and some of your questions are already answered there (like my internet connection and the resolv.conf file). So it might be useful to have a look at:
    cannot open hotmail, kmess and other sites with authentication certificate - LinuxQuestions.org

    Thanks for the help,
    Thomas

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429
    resolv.conf is your DNS and well yea that might be indeed the problem after seeing your ifconfig
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •