Find the answer to your Linux question:
This seems as good a forum to ask as any, so here goes. While I'm not a newbie to *BSD and some Linux, I'm not a pro. I'm somewhat novice ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

home network for computer science education?

This seems as good a forum to ask as any, so here goes.

While I'm not a newbie to *BSD and some Linux, I'm not a pro. I'm somewhat novice really.

I am a student, next year I will be going to a local university majoring in Applied Science (CS). I want to set up a good network at home that will facilitate this learning, and for my own personal laughs and giggles.

I hope to set up a network consisting of one netBSD workstation, 2 terminals (possibly diskless), a Linux server, an OS X machine, and a closedBSD firewall...

I'm unsure of which Linux distro to go with for my server, however. I was looking at LTSP (http://ltsp.org) for the software to power the terminals off of a netboot setup. Right now I run Fedora core 1, but would like to delve deeper into the world of less-friendly distros (this is about learning, after all).

My questions I pose here:
    • What distro should I go with for the server?
      Does anyone have experience with LTSP or similar software and can give advice?
      Any comments on my idea?