Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi all! Nice place. My computing experience began in 1992 with Apple IIes. I've used Macs (in school) and Windoze (starting with v3.1), but I've been considering Linux for a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Smile Adventures in Linux

Hi all! Nice place.

My computing experience began in 1992 with Apple IIes. I've used Macs (in school) and Windoze (starting with v3.1), but I've been considering Linux for a couple years. I just bought a new laptop, and it came with Vista. Hello, world. It was officially time.

The following is the sequence of events that has transpired thus far in my journey to make The Big Switch (first week in January).

After many hours of reading, I decide on openSUSE with the KDE. The initial plan was to wipe my laptop and just go for it with a fresh install. But during my research I learn about dual-boot systems. I know what partitions are, but I've never administrated them.

I find that Vista has a partition tool, so I use it to shrink Windows. Unfortunately, it only decides to give me 13 GB (there's over 80 GB available).

Through more reading, I learn that 3rd party partitioning software can shrink this down more. I go looking for trial versions.

I research, download, and install an app, only to find that the trial version won't perform this function. Two different apps, same thing. Uninstall. I'm not willing to pay $50 for this, and I'm tired of looking for cracks. This is one of the reasons I'm getting into Linux.

I decide that I'll just use the 13 GB that Vista is allowing me, since it's plenty enough to install full SUSE. I can always format the whole thing later. This dual-boot thing will only be a temp setup until I feel comfortable with SUSE.