Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am an instructor at a school where I also maintain the network for my classroom and all of the adult programs as well as the biz and admin offices. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Protecting my network through a vlan

I am an instructor at a school where I also maintain the network for my classroom and all of the adult programs as well as the biz and admin offices. Part of the classes / offices are at a different building / physical location.

there are presently 2 T1 lines to that campus, one for IP phones and one for my network. I do not maintain the phones, they are taken care of by the technology coord. They are changing the connections between the 2 locations by replacing the T1s with a single fiber. They may be able to make the connection transparent for my network and I would not need to make any changes. Presently I have all one segment for both places.

Even if it does work to be transparent, I am VERY concerned about the security of my network. I do not have access to the 2 L3s they are going to use on each end so someone can "peek" into my network any time they choose unless I prevent that. I have logged repeated attempts to connect to my main NAT from the outside, I feel this is a cut to the heart.

I am thinking I want to have a NAT on each end of the connection but I am not really sure how to set the routing up.

Internet <--> lan here <--> new nat <--> L3 <--ss--> L3 <--> new nat <--> there

I have a custom firewall with iptables on my main nat to the internet, I am not sure how I would set the routing or if I need 5? network segments or .....
    I would want it to all be transparent to the users. I know I have to set a new DHCP server at that campus and I can still use my DNS servers here.

Really looking for a simple but effective solution. They will set the IPs to the L3s to whatever IP I give.

thanks

Kumado

Linux Guru