Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
Hey folks. I've got SuSE Linux 9.1 Pro installed. Just installed it today in fact. It picked up that I've a Lucent LT WinModem, and I inserted CD5 to install ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! eBopBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    France, Europe.
    Posts
    89

    Lucent LT WinModem - Detected & configured but won't con


    Hey folks.

    I've got SuSE Linux 9.1 Pro installed. Just installed it today in fact. It picked up that I've a Lucent LT WinModem, and I inserted CD5 to install the drivers for it; so it's all configured.

    But I try to connect using KInternet. I open it up, and click Dial In. I then view the log and see:

    SuSE Meta pppd (smpppd-ifcfg), Version 1.16 on linux.

    Status is: disconnected
    trying to connect to smpppd
    connect to smpppd
    Status is: disconnected
    Status is: connecting
    pppd[0]: Plugin passwordfd.so loaded.
    pppd[0]: Failed to open /dev/ttyLT0: No such device or address
    Status is: disconnecting
    Status is: disconnected
    pppd[0] died: Serial port open failed (exit code 7)

    The username, password and dial-up number are all correct.

    Any help on this?

    Also, I've set for the Firewall to be on. Will it automatically protect me? Do I need to configure it? Any help on this as well?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie zdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    218
    What is the output of ls -l /dev/modem?
    I didn't know that suse came with the ltmodem driver.
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

  3. #3
    Just Joined! eBopBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    France, Europe.
    Posts
    89
    This is what I get when I do that: lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 11 2004-08-01 17:56 /dev/modem -> /dev/ttyLT0

    And as far as I'm aware, for a WinModem I'm supposed to use ttyLT0.

    Yes, that's why I chose SuSE because it comes with the driver for my modem; otherwise I'd have probably gone with something else such as Mandrake or maybe even tried me hand at Slack :P.

    Any help in regards to this is much appreciated.

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie zdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    218
    This is what that command gives me:
    Code:
    12 Jul 31 17:24 /dev/modem -> /dev/ttySLT0
    And if you notice your error output is :
    Code:
    pppd[0]: Failed to open /dev/ttyLT0: No such device or address
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

  5. #5
    Just Joined! eBopBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    France, Europe.
    Posts
    89
    I went into the folder /dev/ and I found the file. However, it's 0b.

    I read in a tutorial about WinModems that they need to be set on /dev/ttyLT0 - Especially the fact since mine is a Lucent LT WinModem.

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie zdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    218
    If you noticed my reply .. I am using an ltmodem.
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

  7. #7
    Just Joined! eBopBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    France, Europe.
    Posts
    89
    Yes I saw.

    Is it wrong then that mine puts out ttyLT0? Should it put out ttySLT0?
    I read in a tutorial that LT WinModems should be ttyLT0 ... should I set it then to ttySLT0?

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie zdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    218
    Maybe it's specifc to Suse or something. What does
    Code:
    ls /dev/ | grep LT
    output?
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie zdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    218
    Also have you tried to modprobe?
    Code:
    modprobe ltserial
    modprobe ltmodem
    and then try connecting?
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

  10. #10
    Just Joined! eBopBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    France, Europe.
    Posts
    89
    "ls /dev/ | grep LT" gives me ttyLT0


    I'll reboot back into Linux, and then try "modprobe ltserial" and "modprobe ltmodem" and then see what happens.

    It'd be pretty annoying if I have to do that all the time, hehe,

    I'll go into Linux now and report back my results.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •