Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I've just installed Redhat 9, and all was going well, learning fast. I then decided to change to KDE. However, I have a small problem that is putting me off... ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Internet on Gnome, but not on KDE

I've just installed Redhat 9, and all was going well, learning fast. I then decided to change to KDE. However, I have a small problem that is putting me off...

I could connect to and access the internet fully using Gnome, and my D-Link external modem. When I changed to KDE, using all the same settings, with the nice KPPP thing, it dials (and connects) but nothing will load. This is very frustrating, as I now have everything the way I want, except the internet on KDE.

Any help much appreciated, probably something very simple, I'm a newbie

Jamie

So you ARE connected? But you can't access webpages? Or it drops the connection? What is the output of /var/log/messages when connecting and/or trying to access a website?
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

Just Joined!
    Yes, that's correct, the connection window shows it to be active, but Mozilla doesn't even attempt to load anything. I shall try looking for that output and get back with the message.

Linux User
    From KDE you can use Gnome programs. So you're able to run whatever you sucessfully used to connect to the internet.
    --monkey

Just Joined!
    I used KPPP in KDE, which was simpler that "activating" the connection with no dialog in Gnome (network properties I think). Does anybody have any other suggestions for dialers that I can use in KDE.

Linux Engineer