Find the answer to your Linux question:
I don't know what I did... but I used to have 2 network interfaces.... 1 was my IPv6 and one was IPv4.... Now, IPv4 is gone.... How do I get ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Where'd my IPv4 interface go?

I don't know what I did... but I used to have 2 network interfaces.... 1 was my IPv6 and one was IPv4.... Now, IPv4 is gone.... How do I get it back? Can I do some sort of repair with my install disk?

I have eth0 and eth0:avahi listed in my devices tab in my network tools. But if I try to configure eth0:avahi, I get "The interface does not exist".

Originally in network settings I had my dialup modem and 2 "wired connection" listed. Now I have just 1.

Is there some way for me to just wipe my nic cards and start over? I'm within inches of reinstalling the whole shootin match.

BTW, this is ubuntu 7.10 and I'm a complete noob.

Linux Enthusiast
    A single network device can happily have an IPv6 and IPv4 address at the same time.

Code:
    root@angua:/media/sdb2# ifconfig eth1
    eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:00:00:00:00
              inet addr:192.168.1.5  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::20e:35ff:fe32:2946/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:437797 errors:30 dropped:30 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:260269 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:572839380 (546.3 MB)  TX bytes:45456291 (43.3 MB)
              Interrupt:11 Memory:e0204000-e0204fff
    To configure and IPv4 like this use the following.

Code:
    sudo ifconfig eth1 192.168.1.5
    Because your card is listed as eth0 you'd have to change the command to use that instead of eth1 and you will have to change the IP to whatever is suitable for your network.

Let us know how you get on,

Chris...