Find the answer to your Linux question:
Alright, so I've been looking around the net for awhile now, and everything on the subject I find seems to confuse me more. To be honest, I don't understand the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Connection sharing... complete newbie

Alright, so I've been looking around the net for awhile now, and everything on the subject I find seems to confuse me more. To be honest, I don't understand the tools I've downloaded at all (bridge-utils) and any help would be much appreciated.

Basically, I have no way of running cat5 cable to my attic, so the only way to access the internet up here is through wireless. My linux box (running Ubuntu gutsy) is connected to the router. My linux box has a free ethernet port. Now I have this other box, and it has no wireless card, and only onboard ethernet. That box runs Windows XP (sadly I still need it for school/other things wine won't run). So, to sum this up, is there any way to link the windows box to the linux box to share the wireless connection it has? Thank you in advance!

you need to get what is called a crossover cable, then you can connect the ethernet card on the linux machine to the one on the windows machine.

you will have to use the linux machine as the router, probably using iptables is the easiest way, someone more experienced will have to help you on that, but you definitely need a crossover cable, a regular ethernet cable won't do unless you use a switch

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by coopstah13 View Post
    you need to get what is called a crossover cable, then you can connect the ethernet card on the linux machine to the one on the windows machine.

you will have to use the linux machine as the router, probably using iptables is the easiest way, someone more experienced will have to help you on that, but you definitely need a crossover cable, a regular ethernet cable won't do unless you use a switch