Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am connected to a school PC through ssh and I need to do a traceroute to a site... The problem is that when I do traceroute google.com (or ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

traceroute not wroking

Hi,

I am connected to a school PC through ssh and I need to do a traceroute to a site... The problem is that when I do traceroute google.com (or any other site) I get something like this:

Code:
    traceroute: Warning: google.com has multiple addresses; using 72.14.207.99
    traceroute to google.com (72.14.207.99), 30 hops max, 52 byte packets
    traceroute: sendto: Operation not permitted
     1 traceroute: wrote google.com 52 chars, ret=-1
     *traceroute: sendto: Operation not permitted
    traceroute: wrote google.com 52 chars, ret=-1
    And it goes on like this. I did some search and found out that I need to change the rules in IPTABLES or something (noob here). Whatever I tried with iptables it says this:

Code:
    iptables v1.3.6: can't initialize iptables table `filter': Permission denied (you must be root)
    Perhaps iptables or your kernel needs to be upgraded.
    Obviously I can't do anything about this and I'm supposed to do a traceroute and it supposedly should work.

Can anyone help me out?

You wont be able to modify iptables unless you have root access to the PC. Since this is a school PC I don't think you will have?
    Linux User #453176

Just Joined!
    traceroute, also, requires root to work. It is usually installed setuid root, but your school may have decided not to do this for security reasons (I recall my old university killed the setuid bit on 'ping' due to security concerns at one point).

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Yeah, I know I can't modify iptables. But is there another way to do a traceroute without being root (or modifying iptables)?

This is an assignment I was given, and it's supposed to be doable.