Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I just ordered a barebones kit w/ a new processor, a new motherboard, 512MB RAM case, and power supply. I'll be moving my hard drives into that new system. My ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363

    Possible Cluster?


    I just ordered a barebones kit w/ a new processor, a new motherboard, 512MB RAM case, and power supply. I'll be moving my hard drives into that new system. My question is that I will have an empty system left over that still has a working motherboard, processor, and RAM and I was wondering if I could use it as part of a cluster with no hard drives in it over USB (or maybe LAN).

    Specs:

    New System:
    OS: Mandrake 10 Community (Dual boot w/ Win98SE)
    Intel Celeron 2.0 Ghz
    512 MB DDR2100 RAM
    Foxcnn F845DA 400MHz FSB DDR Motherboard
    More infohere

    Old System:
    Intel Pentium III
    256 MB PC133 RAM
    Jabil BX Motherboard R3

  2. #2
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    look at openMosix, you will need a LAN, but if you are savvy, you might be able to pull the usb.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  3. #3
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    thanks, but that doesn't solve my problem. one of the machines doesn't have any hard drives and openMosix requires that it does! is there maybe a live linux cd with clustering software on it?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    you could try it, i think a diskless install will be tough, there are probably very few options, but if you have 25 bucks to burn, pcretro.com will probably stock 6 gig drives to 700meggers for dirt cheap.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  6. #5
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    ah ha! success! i found a handy little thing called ClusterKnoppix! Check it out!
    http://bofh.be/clusterknoppix/

    edit: crap! just realized i won't have a video card on the machine i want to boot with the cd. oh well...wait could i use something like this: CHAOS? that supposedly configures itself?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Quote Originally Posted by linkinp4rk410
    ah ha! success! i found a handy little thing called ClusterKnoppix! Check it out!
    http://bofh.be/clusterknoppix/

    edit: crap! just realized i won't have a video card on the machine i want to boot with the cd. oh well...wait could i use something like this: CHAOS? that supposedly configures itself?
    Yeah...CHAOS looks like what you want, if you can get a NIC for the old box.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •