Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi i am running an iptable command on my Debian box with kernel 2.6.9-023stab040.1-entnosplit #1 SMP. the command is: sudo iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -p tcp -d ip.here.aaa.bbb --dport ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6

    iptables error (No chain/target/match by that name)


    Hi i am running an iptable command on my Debian box with kernel 2.6.9-023stab040.1-entnosplit #1 SMP.

    the command is:
    sudo iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -p tcp -d ip.here.aaa.bbb --dport 3724 -j REDIRECT --to-ports 3724

    but i get this error:
    iptables: No chain/target/match by that name

    anyone can tell me why and how to fix please?
    Last edited by michaeljoser; 08-31-2008 at 02:13 PM. Reason: Typo

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    First question I have is why are you redirecting port 3724 to 3724?
    Second question is what is it that you are trying to do?

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6
    well, basically i read this on a World of Warcraft forum where we modify packets on port 3724 (wow port) in such a way to reduce latency.

    The two following commands work together to achieve the above but i get errors from the first command.

    we could probably send packets from 3724 -> 3725 then socat from 3725 -> 3724.


    sudo iptables -t nat -A PREROUTING -p tcp -d ip.here.aaa.bbb --dport 3724 -j REDIRECT --to-ports 3724

    sudo socat -d -d -d TCP4-LISTEN:3724,nodelay,fork,reuseaddr,su=nobody TCP4:ip.here.aaa.bbb:3724,nodelay

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Lazydog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    The Keystone State
    Posts
    2,677
    Using redirect does nothing but add latency as the packet needs to be handled.

    If you are looking to remove latency then you should not be modifying anything and sending the packet direct to the port they need to goto.

    Could you post the link to where you found this? I would like to take a look.

    Regards
    Robert

    Linux
    The adventure of a life time.

    Linux User #296285
    Get Counted

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6
    Most people who tested says that it does reduce the latency because blizzard uses some weird network algorithm.

    So here is the link:
    WoW Forums -> International Lower Ping HOWTO + Observations


    But my original question is why do i get the error?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •