Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys! I'm a student and have a part-time work in a firm that delivers retail store solutioins. Our systems connect and use our own servers extensively - we have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Medium/small business wanting a firewall - Can I do it?

Hi guys!

I'm a student and have a part-time work in a firm that delivers retail store solutioins. Our systems connect and use our own servers extensively - we have great networking demands and complex networks (that need to be available at all times).

It has recently become clear that we are in need of a new firewall. The old one is a Trustix linux distribution from a provider and they want to sell us a new dedicated box (for a lot of money). My boss, my colleagues and I are wondering if this is something that me and my buddy could do ourselves.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

I have a good understanding of the TCP/IP networks and I feel I would be able to set up a firewall with some kind of open source firewall-distribution. But how secure are these? And there is an uptime-demand that gives me little flexibility. How long would it take to understandthe iptables syntax? I imagine this is what has to be used?

If i get this job, there's a lot of responsibility on me and my buddy. This worries me a little, but at the same time I think firewalls aren't too complex, and once configured correctly and working, what can go wrong?

Please give me some input, thank you!
    Kris

IPTABLES is quite simple and you just need to create logical rules that the firewall will follow.

There are a few GUIs out there to make thinks simpler for you, but it's always good to learn to write the rules yourself anyway.