Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm a newbie in the packet sniffing tool tcpdump. I've installed tcpdump v3.9.8 on my machine and let it listen to an interface called \Device\PssdkLoopback on my machine. It ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Questions about tcpdump

Hi,
    I'm a newbie in the packet sniffing tool tcpdump. I've installed tcpdump v3.9.8 on my machine and let it listen to an interface called \Device\PssdkLoopback on my machine. It dumps all the packet information that it sniffs from that interface, however, I have the following questions:

1) The filter option "host <hostname>" does not seem to work. I mean, the DNS name of my machine is snt-2.iastate.edu (which is shown when I run tcpdump without the host option), but when I run the command "tcpdump host snt-2.iastate.edu" , it does not dump any packets.

2) With the -e option (ethernet), it shows incoming frames to the MAC address 4c:4f:43:41:4c:20, whereas the MAC address of the Ethernet LAN adapter of my machine, as shown by the command "ipconfig -all", is 00-13-72-78-C5-12. Could you please explain the reason of this apparent discrepancy?

Can anyone shed some light?
    Bibudh

Just Joined!
    Hello,
    the option host <hostname> work if you have A record for host.
    running without option host, you will view PTR record for host.

Just Joined!
    Hi Diel,
    Thanks for your reply.
    If the host <hostname> option works only for packets containing the A record, then do you mean, it will work only for the packets returned from the DNS name servers, that reply with the IP address, when queried with a hostname? But then, in most cases, the IP addresses corresponding to the most common hostnames/URLs are already cached in the local name servers, so we won't find any packets with A records, right?