Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have a simple network hardware setup. My wireless Linksys router supplies internet and local network access to a wireless laptop running Windows Vista and a hardwired desktop computer. The ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux/Windows Networking Newbie

I have a simple network hardware setup. My wireless Linksys router supplies internet and local network access to a wireless laptop running Windows Vista and a hardwired desktop computer. The desktop in question used to run Windows XP but without warning I formatted the drive and installed Mandrake 9.1. The internet still works just fine for both computers, as expected. What I want is a working local network.

I'm new to Linux and Linux networking. My first goal is to allow access from my Linux system to shared folders on the Windows laptop. So my questions are as follows:

How can I find the IP addresses, domain names, workgroup names, etc. for both of the computers and the router?

How do I use SAMBA to allow access from Linux to Windows through the router?

First of all, Welcome to Linux Forums!

Question 1.)

Linux computer (as root): ifconfig

ifconfig will output something like this:
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:15:58:1e:37:74  
              inet addr:192.168.1.3  Bcast:192.168.1.255      Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::215:58ff:fe1e:3774/64 Scope:Link
    Since you are hardwired, you are looking for your eth0 connection. We can see from my output that the inet address for the eth0 connection is 192.168.1.3. This is the ip address that the router assigned. (since the ifconfig can be large, I often do 'ifconfig | grep inet' in order to find what I need faster)

Your domain/workgroup name needs to be set up with samba. I am assuming you have samba installed. so:

nano /etc/samba/smb.conf

# 1. Server Naming Options:
    # workgroup = NT-Domain-Name or Workgroup-Name