Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
I must admit to beeing a brainless windows user for quite a few years; and anything to do with consol config work is completely new to me. This is what ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11

    Question I'm back ; still needing help !


    I must admit to beeing a brainless windows user for quite a few years;
    and anything to do with consol config work is completely new to me.


    This is what came up on the consol :

    [root@localhost bryce]#lspci | grep Ethernet
    00:07.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Ethernet (rev a2)
    [root@localhost bryce]#
    [root@localhost bryce]#hwinfo
    bash: hwinfo: command not found


    Please I ment no afence to other windows users !!

  2. #12
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Okay, so your NIC is detected. What do you get from
    Code:
    ifconfig
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11

    Next code reply 3

    Ok here goes ;

    [root@locahost bryce]#ifconfig
    Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 droped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    [root@localhost bryce]#


    I hope that maybe the help you all are giving me
    will be of benifit to someone else having the same trouble.


    Many thanks

    regards from Bryce Huthcison "weldeyes"

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Do you get anything different if you run this series?
    Code:
    ifconfig eth0 down
    ifconfig eth0 up
    ifconfig
    Also, check to make sure that the NIC is enabled with
    Code:
    system-config-network
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11

    code reply 4

    Still no luck as yet:-

    [root@localhost bryce]#ifconfig eth0 down
    eth0: unknown interface: No such device
    [root@localhost bryce]#ifconfig etho0 up
    eth0:unknown interface: No such device
    [root@localhost bryce]#ifconfig

    ( the same read out as before )

    [root@localhost bryce]#system-config-network
    bash: system-config-network: command not found
    [root@localhost bryce]#

    I checked up on the distro again and to
    try to make it easier for you it is


    PCLinuxOS 2007

    downloaded Live CD installed on half on my 250 gig
    hard drive dule booted with XP


    I hope this may help; and thanks again

    regards Bryce

  7. #16
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    I did some looking around on PCLinux. I'm not sure if it set's up the net connection automatically. Go to control center ->network and internet, check to make sure that it has your network card enabled. Also, make sure that it's set for the right settings (static IP or DHCP)
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  8. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11

    Question Reply 5

    I ran the auto config in the control center
    as you sugested ,accepted the one and only avalable choise which was
    nVidia Corporation | MCP61 Ethernet; and after about 20 minuts of nothing drakconnect came back with


    Unable to find network interface
    for selected device (using forcedeth driver).


    I will snoop around the NVIDIA FORUM in an
    attempt to try and help myself as well ; iff I manage to find anything
    I'll post it here to let you know.


    Thanks again for the trouble you have gone to
    on my behalf
    regards Bryce "weldeyes"

  9. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11

    I think I've found the answer !!

    This is what I found from google

    Linux nForce Drivers

    Now I have to learn what to do with it !

    I hope this helps someone else;

    and thanks to everyone for their time and effort in trying to help,
    I still may need it.
    regards Bryce "weldeyes"

  10. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11

    nForce driver doco

    Sorry I forgot this ; its the nForce driver doc for Linux istallation
    on all distros

    nForce Linux Driver Release Notes

    regards Bryce

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •