Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
Could someone Please Tell me if there is a distro that supports Speed Stream 4100/4200 modems I know it looks like i'm belly aking but I've allready tried PCLINUX and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11

    Ethernet problems !!!!


    Could someone Please

    Tell me if there is a distro that supports
    Speed Stream 4100/4200 modems

    I know it looks like i'm belly aking but I've allready tried
    PCLINUX and it won't even find the ethonet port which is COM1 on windows.

    In a couple of days I'll be recieving Mandriva 10.1 in the mail ;

    I'm just wondering if I need to by a new modem which I can't aford
    or weather there script file I have to learn to write


    PS: that happy banana does not reprisent my mood at the moment !

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    So the modem connects to your computer via ethernet? If so, what is the output of
    Code:
    ifconfig
    lspci |grep Ethernet
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie framp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    240

    Unhappy

    Why don't you just use a specific title for your posting? E.g. 'Problems with Speed Stream 4100/4200 modems'

    Such a general title sucks in everybody - including my self - and takes me 5 mins which I could have spend on other postings because I have never been in touch with 4100/4200 modems. Please use a much more specific title in you next posting
    "Really, I'm not out to destroy Microsoft. That will just be a completely unintentional side effect." Linus Benedict Torvalds

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11

    Question weldeyes reply to code

    This is what came up on the consol screen

    [root@localhost bryce] # ifconfig
    Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: : :1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TXpackets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    [root@localhost bryce] # lspci |grep Ethernet
    [root@localhost bryce] # |spci |grep Ethernet
    bash: syntax error near unexpected token '|'
    [root@localhost bryce]# spci
    bash: spci: command not found


    I appreciate the all the help :; and apologies to the other new bloke

  5. #5
    Just Joined! nareshjethva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Rajkot
    Posts
    92
    there is no ethernet connected to your pc only loopback saws

    First of you configure your ethernet ethx (x mean 0,1...)
    & by the way what linux version you use ?

  6. #6
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    What distro are you using, and are you actually using an ethernet connection? Or connecting USB?

    By the way... no apologies needed!
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11

    Question weldeyes again

    I'm using the current downloaded version of PCLINUX

    and the Speedstream modem is USB and ethenet ; but I have it conected by
    the yellow ethernet cable to the ethernet card.

    What I found out on my windows sys files is that the card is a
    NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller

    Adapter Type : Ethernet 802.3

    Index 8

    and I have Service Name; IP address; Subnet; Default IP gateway;
    DHCP Server; DNS ; and the phisical address



  8. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    6,110
    Quote Originally Posted by weldeyes View Post
    and it won't even find the ethonet port which is COM1 on windows.
    Are you saying it's a modem connected with a serial cable?

    Ethernet
    Serial

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    12
    I've tried googling a bit about this modem and it is ADSL modem and router with LAN and USB ports, so definitely not a serial there. Also it's a _router_ so no need for PPPoE or PPPoA at linux side, just plain simple LAN connection. weldeyes - If you could just try "lspci<space>|<space>grep Ethernet" without quotes. Or if that does not work, try hwinfo and copy paste Ethernet block.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    11

    Smile Thanks but it will have to wait

    Thanks for your help; but I have to go to the hospital 80 miles
    away for my post surgery checkup, no it was nothing too series but I will
    try your advice tomorrow


    Regards from Bryce Hutchison "weldeyes'


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •