Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hello folks. Does anybody know where to get the madwifi source 0.10.x? I've been looking for it cause somebody told that it's the only way to get my atheros card ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342

    madwifi 0.10.x


    Hello folks.

    Does anybody know where to get the madwifi source 0.10.x? I've been looking for it cause somebody told that it's the only way to get my atheros card to work. I checked source-forge and the madwifi project site and i didn't find it!

    Thanks a lot!!!

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie sdimhoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    191
    I think this is what you are looking for:

    snapshots.madwifi.org

    I'm not sure if you use ubuntu, but this had some extra information about people's trials and tribulations.

    HOWTO: compile & install madwifi-old/ng without breaking linux-restricted-modules - Ubuntu Forums

    Good luck!
    Linux since: 2001
    Gentoo since: 2004
    - - - - - - - -
    Translation:
    I fix things until they break.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    You can also get the latest cutting edge version using Subversion.

    UserDocs/GettingMadwifi - madwifi-project.org - Trac
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    9
    I use ndiswrapper for my ubuntu..So far no problem..

  5. #5
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342
    I got the 0.10.x version. And installed it. So, according to the manual, i should be getting a couple of cards now: madwifi0 and ath0. I got wmaster0 and ath0. Here's how i configured my /etc/network/interfaces file:

    #auto ath0
    #iface ath0 inet static
    # address 192.168.10.30
    # gateway 192.168.10.1
    # dns-nameservers 196.40.31.205
    # netmask 255.255.255.0
    # wpa-driver wext
    # wpa-ssid Sheds
    # wpa-ap-scan 2
    # wpa-proto RSN
    # wpa-pairwise CCMP
    # wpa-group CCMP
    # wpa-key-mgmt WPA-PSK
    # wpa-psk e8988ede31608816b3460abcc2c5443e892ee5610a46af8efb 2bdddda6d59f50

    I got the router configure with wpa2, static ip addresses, no mac address filters, no SSID broadcast and the key was generated with the wpa-passphrase command.

    What am i missing?

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4,593
    If you are not using the NetworkManager app for connecting (why not?), you need to install and configure wpa_supplicant.
    Please do not send Private Messages to me with requests for help. I will not reply.

  7. #7
    Linux User sheds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    ??????????
    Posts
    342
    Hello there guys.

    I changed my interfaces file to look like this (enabled ssid broadcast, dhcp instead of static and WPA instead of WPA2):

    auto ath0
    iface ath0 inet dhcp
    wpa-driver wext
    wpa-ssid XXXXX
    wpa-ap-scan 1
    wpa-proto WPA
    wpa-pairwise TKIP
    wpa-group TKIP
    wpa-key-mgmt WPA-PSK
    wpa-psk XXXXXXXXXXXXXX

    Apparently, the madwifi driver does not support some options, i'm guessing WPA2. I read somewhere that this driver does not support WPA2. They were right it seems.

    Either way, i'll just wait for an upgrade to get WPA2 before switching to it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •