Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Well, my quest continues! Really motivated to migrate for good, but having some startup problems still... I managed to install the ipw2100 driver properly, and modprobe works beatyfully! Problem is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    6

    two NICs listed as eth0??? wh00t?


    Well, my quest continues! Really motivated to migrate for good, but having some startup problems still...

    I managed to install the ipw2100 driver properly, and modprobe works beatyfully! Problem is both iwconfig and ifconfig lists its cards as eth0. And my wlan is supposed to be wlan0. I dont get this.. Check this output:

    root@yos network-scripts # ifup eth0
    IP variable missing for ifcfg-eth0, cannot continue
    root@yos network-scripts # ifup wlan0
    IP variable missing for ifcfg-wlan0, cannot continue
    root@yos network-scripts # cat ifcfg-eth0
    ONBOOT=yes
    IP=
    NETMASK=
    BROADCAST=
    root@yos network-scripts # cat ifcfg-wlan0
    DEVICE=wlan0
    USERCTL=yes
    ONBOOT=yes
    BOOTPROTO=dhcp
    TYPE=Wireless
    MODE=Managed
    ESSID=LogR_privato

    any suggestions? Don't wanna be caught in Windows any more...

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    please post the entire output of the "ifconfig" command, dont put "ifconfig eth0" or wlan0 just ifconfig on its own. it should list all the interfaces and how they are configured. please post all that output in your reply.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    6
    root@yos lasse # ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0C:F1:2B:21:1B
    inet addr:192.168.1.51 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:2479 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2027 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:1
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:1899086 (1.8 Mb) TX bytes:424460 (414.5 Kb)
    Interrupt:5 Base address:0x1000 Memory:e0200000-e0200fff

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

    root@yos lasse # iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    dummy0 no wireless extensions.

    eth0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"LogR_privato" Nickname:"ipw2100"
    Mode:Managed Channel:1 Access Point: 00:A0:C5:98:ED:59
    Bit Rate=11Mb/s Tx-Power=32 dBm
    Retry:on RTS thr=2304 B Fragment thr:off
    Encryption key:333F-3523-6E30-246B-3F64-287E-62 Security mode:restricted
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:-32 dBm Noise level:-98 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    eth1 no wireless extensions.

    eth2 no wireless extensions.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    6
    ops, you get my current wep key as a bonus

    edit: WTF: I unplugged the tp cable because I saw that kwifimanager displayed an IP-address, and I can still surf! So apparantely it works!!

    BUt it would be nice to have everything set up the way it SHOULD be, to have a system thats perfectly confed!

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    you dont seem to have installed your wlan interface properly or the modules you loaded are incorrect if this is the case then "ifconfig wlan0" will say sojmething like:

    wlan0: error fetching interface information: Device not found

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •