Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hi, When I boot my linux client It seems to work fine, but then I get this Error: "ERROR: Auto probe of the video card failed ! You need to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3

    Linux client


    Hi,

    When I boot my linux client It seems to work fine, but then I get this Error: "ERROR: Auto probe of the video card failed ! You need to specify the proper X server in lts.conf"

    Can anybody help me?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    we can, this isnt exactly a networking question, its better suited to the X forum, but regaurdless, what distro do you run? and what videocard do you have? the quickest solution would be to run

    xorgconfig

    --or--
    xfreeconfig

    and select all the info yourself, to create an xorg.conf or xfree.conf
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3

    My graffic card...

    Hi again!

    By linux client I ment that I push F12 on my laptop to boot from LAN.
    The network is serving KDE...

    Its got an NVIDIA GeForce FX Go2500...
    By distro you meen? (Im stupid, windows guru)

    Thanks for helping me

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    its ok, don't crack the whip on yourself, exactly how far into the boot do you get? you mention KDE, so X works on some level. Unfortunetly, you may need to talk to your sysadmin, this is something that without root access, it might be a little hard to fix, depending on his default config. But basicaly, its trying to guess the values for your monitor/graphics card, and failing, since this is a laptop, its possible that the LCD screen is part of the problem (significantly slower sync rates) if you have acess to a CRT, it might we worthwhile to try that and see what results it can produce.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •