Find the answer to your Linux question:
Okay, I've been using Linux for going on 8+ years now, I know what I'm doing generally and I handle a few servers for clients. I've got a specific issue ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Setting Outgoing IP for Port 80?

Okay, I've been using Linux for going on 8+ years now, I know what I'm doing generally and I handle a few servers for clients. I've got a specific issue now with the networking that I can't seem to figure out, and because if I mess up, I've got to drive an hour to go take care of the server.

Anyway, I've got a script that connects to a web file on remote servers and compares (it's an update script to check if the remote systems need to be upgraded). The script that it's reading is on port 80 (it's from http obviously), and I've setup all of my routes to point to eth0, but for whatever reason, my outgoing IP changes around every few days it seems. I think I know that iptables is what I want to use with POSTROUTING and checking --dport 80, but not entirely sure how to go about setting everything going out to a port 80 to use the eth0 interface's IP address.

If anyone could shed some light it'd be much appreciated, I've been searching around and I can't seem to find exactly what I'm looking for.

Linux Newbie
    The problem with iptables if you use the "-p tcp' parameter is you've just bound all the tcp/ip traffic to port 80. You need a named socket to bind to 80 in iptables. Does your script create a socket?

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by dijetlo View Post
    The problem with iptables if you use the "-p tcp' parameter is you've just bound all the tcp/ip traffic to port 80. You need a named socket to bind to 80 in iptables. Does your script create a socket?