Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi, I have one laptop at home (ubuntu) and two at work (windows and ubuntu2) on the same network with different IP addresses. I can use remote desktop from ubuntu ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    48

    remote desktop between 2 ubuntu computers


    Hi,
    I have one laptop at home (ubuntu) and two at work (windows and ubuntu2) on the same network with different IP addresses. I can use remote desktop from ubuntu to windows, from windows to ubuntu2 but not from ubuntu to ubuntu2. Of course I use the same ip address and port 0 (which I opened with the usual procedure in 'remote desktop preferences') to connect to ubuntu2... How come?
    thanks,
    alex

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    48
    nobody ?

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    161
    You might want to put in some more info. The one at home is on the home network, how you connecting to the office? Can ubuntu ping ubuntu2 and the other way round.

    I know the guy's/girl's on the forum's are good, but I don't think any of them have mastered mind reading yet, so more info please.
    In a world without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    48
    Hi,
    Thanks for your reply. I think I am able to ping from ubuntu to ubuntu2, see below. I can also ssh from the one to the other.
    When I try to connect from ubuntu to ubuntu2 and vice versa I simply do krdc IPaddress:0 . Port 0 is open for sure in ubuntu2, and it should be open in ubuntu.
    Let mem know if more information is needed.
    Regards



    Code:
    ping  130.37.**.**
    
    PING 130.37.**.** (130.37.**.**) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 130.37.17.46: icmp_seq=1 ttl=58 time=23.4 ms
    64 bytes from 130.37.17.46: icmp_seq=2 ttl=58 time=23.6 ms
    ... etc
    64 bytes from 130.37.17.46: icmp_seq=36 ttl=58 time=150 ms
    64 bytes from 130.37.17.46: icmp_seq=37 ttl=58 time=23.6 ms
    ^C
    --- 130.37.**.** ping statistics ---
    47 packets transmitted, 47 received, 0% packet loss, time 46186ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 22.247/26.937/150.673/18.855 ms

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    48
    Here I write something just to refresh my post

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer Kieren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    848
    Just to let you know you have left your IP address in the ping responses and it looks like you were trying to hind them. You can hit "Edit" to remove them if you want to
    Linux User #453176

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    48
    oh yes. well never mind, i cannot see the edit button anyway..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •