Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am totally new to Linux and have never used it before. I want to turn an old Pentium 200 machine into a server for my home LAN, that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Best distro for an old Pentium 200 to be a server with GUI

Hi, I am totally new to Linux and have never used it before.

I want to turn an old Pentium 200 machine into a server for my home LAN, that can share an internet connection, host files and act as a print server. The network will consist of 3 Windows XP PCs, an Xbox and the Linux server, but compatibility isn't an issue at this point.

Becuase I'm not good with Linux at all, this command line stuff is very difficult to understand. Therefore, I need a distro that is best for running a server, but also has a GUI.

I have tried Fedora, FreeBSD, Debian, Lycoris and Knoppix, but to no avail. They have either stopped responding during install, need more hard drive space, required command line input or are unable to provide server and/or GUI capabilities. The closest I got was with Debian, but I couldn't get the serial mouse to work, despite following help from net.

These are my system specs:
    Pentium MMX 200Mhz processor,
    64MB RAM,
    3.5GB HD

If anyone knows of a good distro that is made for servers or can be used as a server, easy to set up, and has a GUI, please let me know.

Thanks.

Linux Engineer
    you might get a lot of replies on this one with people recommending one distro or another, but pretty much any distro will do - as long as its setup correctly.

i'm not sure how you ran out of space on a 3.5GB hdd. and i'm not sure what you mean by requiring command-line input. i'm going to guess what you mean by these two: