Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm a Windows web developer thrown off the deep end to develop a utility on an embedded Linux board. I'm having issues with network connectivity. Last week I was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Can't ping, though DHCP returns IP

Hi,

I'm a Windows web developer thrown off the deep end to develop a utility on an embedded Linux board.

I'm having issues with network connectivity.

Last week I was able to get network connectivity on the Freescale MPC8313 board running Linux version 2.6.20.

Eventually, I would like to get the MPC8313 board running as a NFS client connected to a SUSE installation in VirtualBox running on my Windows development machine.

I got the PC, virtual SUSE installation and the board to ping each
    other happily.

Now however, the Linux board is having connectivity problems and I haven't made any changes. I have the same issue at home and at work.

I can't ping in or out of the board.

How do I diagnose this?

Thanks,
    Chris Plasun

Just Joined!
    I'm no expert here, but would you be better to use fixed IP addresses till you track it down, to remove one possible variable from the loop? Or alternatively have you got some fixed and some DHCP and ended up with an address clash? But I'm not strong on network stuff.

Like you I'm new to Linux, in my case migrating from embedded VxWorks.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by PastAsNew View Post
    I'm no expert here, but would you be better to use fixed IP addresses till you track it down, to remove one possible variable from the loop? Or alternatively have you got some fixed and some DHCP and ended up with an address clash? But I'm not strong on network stuff.

Like you I'm new to Linux, in my case migrating from embedded VxWorks.
    Hi,

Yes, I've tried static but still I get issues. I'm going to have install tshark or tcpdump and see what's going.