Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I am a relative new Linux user, not a complete newb, but still cutting my teeth, trying to break my, and my company's dependence on proprietary software. One ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wireless and Live CD

Hi all,

I am a relative new Linux user, not a complete newb, but still cutting my teeth, trying to break my, and my company's dependence on proprietary software. One of the things we are working on is a VMware View deployment of VDI, with access to it being both internal and extended to the internet. We want to use the broker to set up connections for remote users to connect to a virtual workstation, and in many cases, this connection will be coming from a user's personal home PC, in others it will be a company provided PC that will connect to their local network at home. However, I want to avoid putting a full OS distribution on these PC's, and obviously will have little control over the personally owned equipment. As such, I would love to create a Live CD that would boot their PC, login automatically to the local system, and launch the VMware VDI Client broker. I obviously want to secure the Live image down to only that which is needed to do this, no web browser, configure firewall for only those ports needed, etc.; however, what I am struggling with is how to handle wireless configuration, and printers on those PC's. While we could build individual CD's to give out to each user, that can quickly become a nightmare to manage. Enforcing a common configuration for wireless security and printer models would also be a challenge, and is not really possible. Most of these users are contract employee's, and not technical, so I need to have an easy way (if possible) for this to work for them.

Our biggest goals are to-
    1. Give the users a common working environment