Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
i have a dell vostro 1510 and trying to connect to my wireless router. i installed ndiswrapper and installed the driver from winxp drivers the wifi LED glows on my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    navi mumbai, india
    Posts
    41

    cant connect to wifi from Cent OS


    i have a dell vostro 1510 and trying to connect to my wireless router.

    i installed ndiswrapper and installed the driver from winxp drivers
    the wifi LED glows on my lappy but cant connect to the wifi.
    following are my settings
    Code:
    [root@laptop ~]# lspci | grep Broadcom
    06:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g (rev 01)
    
    [root@laptop ~]# ndiswrapper -l
    bcmwl5 : driver installed
            device (14E4:4315) present
    [root@laptop ~]# iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    sit0      no wireless extensions.
    
    vmnet1    no wireless extensions.
    
    vmnet8    no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:off/any  Nickname:"laptop"
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated   
              Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power:32 dBm   
              RTS thr=2347 B   Fragment thr=2346 B   
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    
    [root@laptop ~]# iwlist scan
    lo        Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    sit0      Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    vmnet1    Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    vmnet8    Interface doesn't support scanning.
    
    wlan0     Scan completed :
              Cell 01 - Address: 00:21:29:DA:70:80
                        ESSID:"linksys"
                        Protocol:IEEE 802.11g
                        Mode:Managed
                        Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
                        Quality:70/100  Signal level:-51 dBm  Noise level:-96 dBm
                        Encryption key:on
                        Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                                  24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
                                  12 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s
                        Extra:bcn_int=100
                        Extra:atim=0
    
    
    [root@laptop ~]# cat /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-wlan0
    
    
    DEVICE=wlan0
    BOOTPROTO=dhcp
    HWADDR=00:23:4D:20:28:4F
    ONBOOT=yes
    IPADDR=192.168.5.12
    NETMASK=255.255.255.0
    GATEWAY=192.168.5.1
    TYPE=Wireless
    ESSID=linksys
    CHANNEL=11
    KEY=S:67A4C25587
    or i have used
    WEP=67A4C25587
    both dont work
    
    
    
    
    
    [root@laptop ~]# cat /etc/modprobe.conf
    alias eth0 r8169
    alias wlan0 madwifi
    
    
    [root@laptop ~]# service network restart
    Shutting down interface eth0:                              [  OK  ]
    Shutting down loopback interface:                          [  OK  ]
    Bringing up loopback interface:                            [  OK  ]
    Bringing up interface eth0:                                [  OK  ]
    Bringing up interface wlan0:  Error for wireless request "Set Encode" (8B2A) :
        SET failed on device wlan0 ; Invalid argument.
    
    Determining IP information for wlan0... failed; no link present.  Check cable?
                                                               [FAILED]
    can someone please guide me on this.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    navi mumbai, india
    Posts
    41
    meanwhile i installed a utility called wifi-radar, and that too doesnt help.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    navi mumbai, india
    Posts
    41
    no one has a clue??

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,512
    It looks like the Linksys access point is using encryption - don't know if it's wep or wpa; however, your laptop is not using encryption, so it won't connect. You need to configure the wireless on the laptop to use the proper encryption and input the key, or you need to disable the encryption on the access point to see if it will connect without a key.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    navi mumbai, india
    Posts
    41
    thank you for your reply
    Code:
    [root@laptop ~]# cat /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-wlan0
    
    
    DEVICE=wlan0
    BOOTPROTO=dhcp
    HWADDR=00:23:4D:20:28:4F
    ONBOOT=yes
    IPADDR=192.168.5.12
    NETMASK=255.255.255.0
    GATEWAY=192.168.5.1
    TYPE=Wireless
    ESSID=linksys
    CHANNEL=11
    KEY=S:67A4C25587
    or i have used
    WEP=67A4C25587
    both dont work
    i have given the wep key. is this not enough. do i need to install any separate packages.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,512
    If the access point is using 128bit encryption, then your key is too short. If it isn't, then it is using 40-bit WEP. Doesn't your network manager have a GUI for setting up the wireless links? I know my CentOS/RHEL 5 system does handle wireless devices, and should ask for a key when I ask it to connect to a specific access point SSID. They usually detect what encryption is being used so you know what type of key or passphrase to use. I don't have wireless on my CentOS system, but it does have that stuff in the network setup GUI, and my Ubuntu laptop certainly handles that stuff without problem.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    navi mumbai, india
    Posts
    41
    there is nothing in the network manager to show the wireless accesspoints.
    system-config-network shows my wlan0 as network card but there is nothing to show the accesspoints.
    plz help

  8. #8
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,512
    Nothing there about scanning for networks? Right now, I am at the limits of my knowledge of the tools you are using. Anyway, I don't see anywhere in this thread where you mention the distribution+version of Linux and the desktop environment that you are using. That information can be pretty important to get you sorted out. Each system + desktop (especially desktop) have differnent tools to manage wireless and wired network connections.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    navi mumbai, india
    Posts
    41
    ok .. i m very sorry ..
    the subject does say cent os but not the version
    i am using centos 5.3 and gnome desktop (will add this in the first post)

    eeks ... i cant edit the first post... hence a red font here so that its catchy

  10. #10
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,512
    My eyes aren't what they used to be (and never very good) - I looked before that last post of mine, but missed it. TAL.

    I too am running CentOS 5.3, but with the KDE desktop. Unfortunately, that is on my workstation, which has a wired link, no wireless, so I can't really talk you thru the process. My laptop runs Ubuntu w/ Gnome and it absolutely has a rescan option in the wireless connection tool. I wish I could be more help. I have been considering getting a wireless card so I could check some of this stuff out, but no time to do so right now. My general opinion is that CentOS/RHEL are better suited for fixed-location workstations and servers that are hard-wired to the network, especially since they aren't running the latest kernel and desktop code that have better wireless support.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •