Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everyone, this is my first post in this forum. I am new to linux, at least to linux administration, and I have a situation. a friend of mine will ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Talking Linux / Windows Network

Hello everyone, this is my first post in this forum.

I am new to linux, at least to linux administration, and I have a situation.

a friend of mine will start a new business soon that will have more than 30 machines and he wants to install a linux server as a "Domain Controller" for other linux desktop machines as well as some windows xp / Vista machines.

the question is what services exactly will handle this in the server and desktops? and if your gonna give me a list of services please tell me what each of these services is used for.

and just for my info .. if the whole network is linux desktops .. what would be the services for clients and server.?

is there any detailed tutorial for this exact situation that i can follow?

Thanks alot.

this would all be controlled by samba share, easy to share with Windows and *nix machines.

Samba - opening windows to a wider world
    Bodhi 1.3 & Bodhi 1.4 using E17
    Dell Studio 17, Intel Graphics card, 4 gigs of RAM, E17

"The beauty in life can only be found by moving past the materialism which defines human nature and into the higher realm of thought and knowledge"

Just Joined!
    Yes, but what to use to make a domain controller in this case ... other than sharing only!

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close

Men occasionally stumble over the truth,
    but most of them pick themselves up
    and hurry off as if nothing had happened.

Winston Churchill

... then the Unix-Gods created "man" ...

Just Joined!
    Thanks, that helped alot

Linux Newbie