Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I recently updated to Fedora 11 and since then I have trouble updating with yum, or using wget or vlc. Yum: Code: # yum update Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit h ttp://linuxdownload. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! fujisan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    5

    yum, vlc, wget cannot resolve names


    I recently updated to Fedora 11 and since then I have trouble updating with yum, or using wget or vlc.

    Yum:
    Code:
    # yum update
    Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit
    h ttp://linuxdownload. adobe .com/ linux /i386/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error [Errno -2] Name or service not known>
    Trying other mirror.
    [...]
    Setting up Update Process
    No Packages marked for Update
    Wget:
    Code:
    $ wget h ttp://fedora.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/rpmfusion/nonfree/fedora/updates/11/x86_64/repodata/repomd.xml
    --2009-06-16 13:29:41--  htt p://fedora.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/rpmfusion/nonfree/fedora/updates/11/x86_64/repodata/repomd.xml
    Resolving fedora.tu-chemnitz.de... failed: Name or service not known.
    wget: unable to resolve host address `fedora.tu-chemnitz.de'
    If i use option -4, it works though.

    Vlc:
    Code:
    $ cvlc mms://vip8.yacast.fr/encodeeurope1
    VLC media player 1.0.0-rc3 Goldeneye
    [0x18f1718] dummy interface: using the dummy interface module...
    [0x7fedf80011f8] main access error: cannot resolve vip8.yacast.fr port 1755 : Name or service not known
    [0x7fedf80011f8] access_mms access error: failed to open a connection (tcp)
    [0x7fedf80011f8] main access error: cannot resolve vip8.yacast.fr port 1755 : Name or service not known
    [0x7fedf80011f8] access_mms access error: failed to open a connection (tcp)
    [0x7fedf80011f8] access_mms access error: cannot connect to server
    [0x7fedf80011f8] main access error: cannot resolve cache.yyy.fr port 3128 : Name or service not known
    [0x7fedf80011f8] access_mms access error: cannot connect to cache.yyy.fr:3128
    [0x7fee0c000c98] main input error: open of `mms://vip8.yacast.fr/encodeeurope1' failed: (null)
    [0x7fee0c000c98] main input error: Your input can't be opened
    [0x7fee0c000c98] main input error: VLC is unable to open the MRL 'mms://vip8.yacast.fr/encodeeurope1'. Check the log for details.
    but I can browse internet with firefox without any problem, I can resolve names easily with the command host:
    Code:
    $ host vip8.yacast.fr
    vip8.yacast.fr has address 193.201.103.108
    $ host fedora.tu-chemnitz.de
    fedora.tu-chemnitz.de has address 134.109.228.1
    $ host linuxdownload.adobe.com
    linuxdownload.adobe.com is an alias for linuxdownload.wip3.adobe.com.
    linuxdownload.wip3.adobe.com has address 192.150.18.37
    My other desktops are still running under Fedora 10 and I do not have such problems.

    My /etc/resolv.conf looks like this:
    Code:
    domain xxx.yyy.fr
    search xxx.yyy.fr
    nameserver 10.0.21.17
    nameserver aaa.bbb.156.13
    and if i switch the 2 last lines like this:
    Code:
    domain xxx.yyy.fr
    search xxx.yyy.fr
    nameserver aaa.bbb.156.13
    nameserver 10.0.21.17
    then all the previous problem disappear BUT i cannot resolve the names of the machines of the local network.

    How can I fix this?

    Any help would be great. Thank you.
    Fujisan

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,752
    It sounds like the local name server has stopped forwarding DNS requests to the one outside the LAN. It might be a configuration issue, or it might be broken. What is the local LAN DNS server? Is it dnsmasq?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  3. #3
    Just Joined! fujisan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    5
    dnsmasq is stopped on the dns server.
    Why would my dns server be broken since everything is fine for my F10 desktops?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,752
    Quote Originally Posted by fujisan View Post
    dnsmasq is stopped on the dns server.
    Why would my dns server be broken since everything is fine for my F10 desktops?
    Good question. I'm just fishing for information here in order to determine why this has happened. However, since FC11 is a new release, you might be advised to visit the fedora project's forums and post your question directly there. Try: FedoraForum.org
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  6. #5
    Just Joined! fujisan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    5
    Which i did here 4 days ago but not one single anwser!
    htt p://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=224028

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,752
    Quote Originally Posted by fujisan View Post
    Which i did here 4 days ago but not one single anwser!
    htt p://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=224028
    Did you try posting a bug report?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  8. #7
    Just Joined! fujisan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    5
    Yep!
    htt ps://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=506761

  9. #8
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,752
    Well, I'm out of suggestions. I'm still learning the intricacies of DNS on Linux systems. I assume your fc10 desktop systems have the same resolv.conf settings? If so, then the name server on 10.0.21.17 must be working properly. And since you say that switching the nameserver settings around fixes the external searches, but breaks the internal ones, then I have to say that the problem is local to your new fc11 installation. Anyway, since I'm not using fc here (I run CentOS and Ubuntu) I cannot experiment without setting up a VM for it. Unfortunately, I don't have the time to futz with it that much on your behalf...
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

  10. #9
    Just Joined! fujisan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    5
    Yes, F10 and F11 destops have the same resolv.conf settings. I also think the problem is related to F11, although when I take my F11 laptop at home, I don't have any problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •