Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I am using Linux BAcktrack version 3.0 pls can any one help me in connecting it to net...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3

    linux backtrack 3.0


    I am using Linux BAcktrack version 3.0 pls can any one help me in connecting it to net

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Hi and welcome to the forums!

    Can you be more precise about why it's not connecting? Do you get an error?


    Or several?


    What is the output of this command:
    Code:
    /sbin/ifconfig -a
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3
    Its asking Lisa daemon to be installed on the system
    now wat is that and to configure it ??

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    LISa is the LAN Information Server, it gives an oversight of what is on the network.

    It's not vital for connecting to the web, although I can imagine lots of Backtracks network monitoring tools rely on it.


    If all you want to do is connect to the internet, I would just ignore the warnings and proceed...


    You may need to configure some 'stuff' first though, Backtrack isn't much of a beginners distro. Can you post the output of the command I posted? That tells me a bit more.
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3
    this is the message what i am geting when using the command /sbin/fconfig - a
    etho link encap ethernet hwaddr ...
    ....
    ...
    lo link encap :local loopback

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer Freston's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,049
    Ah yes, you send me these:
    snapshot1
    snapshot2

    It looks good, apart from the LISa daemon. But that's no matter. It wont help you get online, it'll help you discover other machines on your local network.


    Start up Firefox, are you online? Otherwise:
    What does this do:
    Code:
    ping www.google.com
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •